Render settings on Mac dual quad core

Started by mattman, February 17, 2011, 12:43:22 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

mattman

Dear All, I am new to Terragen and am working on rendering out a high resolution panoramic image for use in a museum display as a back drop. Its sky and water. I am trying to render 3000x3000 pixel tiles and then stitch them together for printing. Unfortunately I need a fairly massive image to pull this off - about 30,000 x 20,000 pixels to print at 150 DPI over a wall area of about 20 feet.

I am a little confused by the render settings and I am getting some errors that I dont know how to rectify.

I have set 4 threads as max and min and the subdivision cache is set at 1600 (is this total megabytes and then this gets divided by threads in use?). This setting seems to be cooking along OK so far. Previously I had this set at 16 max and 1 min with 2400 cache. This errored out in the end. Looking at my activity monitor it says that Terragen is using 7 threads with 2.2 gb real memory and 2.3 gb virtual memory - this is on OS X.

What is the relationship between all this? :)

I would think that I have 8 cores therefore 8 threads but it does not seem to work that way......

I obviously would like to fine tune my settings to get shortest rendertime!

I attached my file in case someone can see what I am doing that is wrong or right!

Thanks in advance!

Best,
Matt

Volker Harun

Honestly ... quite a huge image. I hope that you are familiar with the discussed problems of cropped renders, as there might occur some lighting-mismatch within the tiles.

At the moment I am rendering on my Mac with 3 threads, which is balanced for speed and heating of the MacBook Pro. TG2 uses 5 threads (maybe additional UI-threads and so on). Using the full 4 threads of my machine would reduce rendertime by only 5-10% - having no more resources for anything else.