Procedural Canyons (hurrah!)

Started by ProjectX, April 05, 2007, 02:10:03 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

ProjectX

I noticed that too, although mathematically there's no way it could work without the fractal on the get altitude (that's what controls where the canyons appear - there are canyons where there are valleys in the fractal - or at leat, that's what should happen). perhaps a more experienced node artist will be able to help (after all, I only really decided to do this after I read the terrain from functions tutorial on the wiki - I was a complete novice beforehand).

3DGuy

One quick way I can create canyons is by just slapping on a distribution node, limiting the altitude and use the displace offset to move sections below or above a certain height up or down. That way use use the valleys in the original fractal as a base for the canyons. Like so:

rcallicotte

3DGuy, this looks good.  Thanks.
So this is Disney World.  Can we live here?

ProjectX

good idea 3dguy! The only downside I can see is that you can't plateau the tops.

I have noticed something odd with my canyon setup.

Counter-logically the get altitude gets the altitude on the input of the displacement shader and not the input of the get altitude shader.

This means that if you want a different pattern of canyons then you'll need to change the seed of the input terrain.

How odd.

dhavalmistry

and what happens when you disable that input power fractal shader....
"His blood-terragen level is 99.99%...he is definitely drunk on Terragen!"

ProjectX

The input of the get altitude shader? nothing. Therefore it is redundant.

3DGuy

Quote from: ProjectX on April 13, 2007, 11:19:51 AM
good idea 3dguy! The only downside I can see is that you can't plateau the tops.

For flat tops you'll have to start with a smaller initial displacement amplitude.
example attached...

ProjectX

I see, that's clever, good thinking!

dhavalmistry

Quote from: ProjectX on April 13, 2007, 11:45:45 AM