"An unknown error occurred in TraceRay"

Started by digitalis99, November 23, 2011, 11:43:39 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

digitalis99

I'm new to TG2 and am working on my first project using it.  I have an animation that I'm manually dividing between several nodes to render.  My day job is as an IT guy, so I have LOT's of really decent server hardware to work with.  All of my nodes in the farm are 64bit except one.

On the 32bit machine, I get a LOT of errors when trying to render anything.  For example:
[attach=#]

Each frame that node renders is corrupt.  I created the project on a 64bit node, so maybe that's an issue?  What all do you folks typically ask for to begin troubleshooting this?
Pixel Plow :: Render Endlessly :: http://www.pixelplow.net

Tangled-Universe

Welcome to the forums!

Quote from: digitalis99 on November 23, 2011, 11:43:39 AM
... What all do you folks typically ask for to begin troubleshooting this?

Ghehe, well first of all if you used the search ;D

Searching for the error message in this forums gives you the solution: RAM-usage, or better said: your rendernode is short on available RAM.
As you may know your 32-bit TG2 rendernode can access max. 3.x GB of RAM for rendering, while the 64-bit TG2 rendernodes have access to much much more.
It's likely your 32-bit rendernode is running out of memory and it gives these typical errors.

Cheers,
Martin

digitalis99

Quote from: Tangled-Universe on November 23, 2011, 12:08:10 PM
Welcome to the forums!

Ghehe, well first of all if you used the search ;D

Thanks!  The good news is that I *did* search first.  I saw the memory problem listed as a possible cause, so I watched Task Manager during render operations.  The machine has 4GB of physical memory, of which Terragen was using ~1.5GB during the render.  All the other nodes were using similar amounts of memory.  I didn't think memory exhaustion was the issue, so I posted.

digitalis99