Forest texture

Started by bebe onea, November 10, 2012, 12:16:31 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

bebe onea

Hello,
I'm new to Terragen 2 and I'm trying for two days to make a forest texture over a landscape I have rendered (see in atachment). I also tried to add some trees using object population but had no luck. Can you direct me to some tutorials doing this or can someone give me some directions?
Thank you very much

Upon Infinity

Looks like you have a decent start to a good scene so far.  I'm not sure what part of adding populations you're having trouble with.  I'll try to give you a few ideas.

1. Click on the Objects tab.
2. Click on Add Object => Population.
3. Go to .obj reader or .tgo reader (whatever format your object is in)
4. Locate the file on your hard drive and add that file to the population.
5. Use the cursor in the 3d preview to find the coordinates of where you want to place the population and
    plug those coordinates into the population object (you can right-click in the 3d preview and copy those   
    coordinates and then paste them into the population).
6. Scale the population accordingly.

bebe onea

Thank you Infinity,
It's been of great help. It didn't cross my mind that I have to input exact location.
I have another question.
I want to populate with trees only certain patches so that it depicts the exact location and their real form that I see on Google Earth.
Is there any posibility in Terragen 2 to "paint" population of trees or draw some masks of some kind?
I tried adding a new Surface shader so that my forest went only to some altitude extent and after that added population object as child layer but it did not what I had in mind.
Thanks.

Henry Blewer

http://flickr.com/photos/njeneb/
Forget Tuesday; It's just Monday spelled with a T

bla bla 2

Upon Infinity

Quote from: bebe onea on November 11, 2012, 05:41:24 AM