Trees at weird angles?

Started by N-drju, April 06, 2013, 05:41:27 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

N-drju

Hello to all. I'm new to Terragen 2 and despite the fact there are no stupid questions, I probably have a really dumb one. The software is really nice, I like it a lot, but...

I recently started to experiment a bit with adding objects to the scene, onto the surface of the planet (tgo and obj files). I was greatly surprised when I tried to add some trees near the planet's "equator". All trees were not growing up into the sky as I have anticipated, but were facing "north pole" so to say (i.e.: almost laying down on the surface). As if the planet was not a planet at all but a hill slope!

What should I do to put trees and other objects straight up, regardless of their position on the planet's surface? As far as I know plants should not lay down on their side once they are at the equator...

I do realize that the solution here might be much simpler than I think, but I just can't get it done. I'm really tired of it right now. Hope you professionals will help me solve this problem!
"This year - a factory of semiconductors. Next year - a factory of whole conductors!"

Tangled-Universe

Well as far as I know there's actually no solution to this.
The coordinate system TG uses works best around it's 'origin' (coordinates 0,0,0).
You can deviate miles/kilometres from it, but the further away you move from the origin the trickier the coordinate system starts to behave.
Without going into a lot of technical stuff I'd just like to point out that at the moment there isn't a solution which will allow you to have your trees stand up correctly all over the place.
Also, it's an issue known by the developers.

Oshyan