Apparent distortion on parts of rendering

Started by Elatric, July 25, 2013, 05:29:01 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Elatric

Hi all,

I've been playing around with Terragen 2 for a few days (2, actually...), and I noticed a weird distortion effect on my latest rendering of a snowy mountain in a sea of clouds. I have attached said rendering to this post:
[attach=1]
As you can see, something is just not right... it seems to me as if someone took a second copy of the mountain and shifted it to the side, yet upon closer inspection, there is no such copy. Can anyone shed some light on any possible solutions to this problem?

If it helps, I used the Alpine Fractal to generate the mountain.

Feedback on the other aspects of this project would be greatly appreciated as well, as I am still a Terragen novice and would love to hear how I can improve.

Thanks,

Elatric

cyphyr

Interesting and a great scene. Looks like a kind of double exposure. I can't think of an explanation at the moment. (I am viewing on a mobile). Can you post the tgd file?
www.richardfraservfx.com
https://www.facebook.com/RichardFraserVFX/
/|\

Ryzen 9 5950X OC@4Ghz, 64Gb (TG4 benchmark 4:13)

Elatric

cyphyr

Thanks I'll take a look in the morning (midnight here )
You can upload to the forum if you like as well, just so you know :)
www.richardfraservfx.com
https://www.facebook.com/RichardFraserVFX/
/|\

Ryzen 9 5950X OC@4Ghz, 64Gb (TG4 benchmark 4:13)

Oshyan

This is likely due to your fairly strong Intersect Underlying settings. Try reducing some of those numbers a bit, or just disabling Intersect Underlying and see if you prefer it without.

- Oshyan

Elatric

Hi Oshyan,

Thanks for the advice! I was also questioning my overzealous usage of the 'intersect underlying' setting (it looked pretty!  :P), but I don't have access to Terragen 2 right now (My main computer is in use).

I'll be sure to see if that fixes the problem when I revisit the project tomorrow!

Thanks for the help,

Elatric

Elatric