Weird populator problem

Started by ejgodwin, November 30, 2013, 11:19:58 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

ejgodwin

Relative newbie here. Having recently upgraded to TG3, I've had a problem with the populator that's been driving me nuts. When I add populations using the tgo reader, and click "populate now", it doesn't fill the area to its edges. It always populates only the lower left corner. It's also not proportional: if I reduce the area to say, 100x100, it doesn't create any instances at all.

The only way to make it fill the area is to uncheck the "sit on terrain" option, which of course defeats the whole purpose. (It's set to "Compute Terrain" and "Planet 01" like it should be.) There's no displacement or density shaders involved, and nothing else unusual except one thing: in the Elevation setting in the Planet 01 shader, I had to use a value of 270 to offset a problem caused by my external heightfield editor (the coasts were too low).

Anyone here seen the same thing or have a clue what's going on? I've searched the forums and the wiki to no avail. I never saw this problem in TG2, even with the same heightfield.

Just a note to say I've been lurking here for some time, and I've learned a lot from you guys. Hope to contribute someday. Thanks!

[attach=1]

Dune

Welcome to this forum as a participant. We need more participants!

It's best if you could post your tgd, then it's probably easily solved. But it looks like your area is indeed 4x5k, so I can't see the problem. What I did notice is the spacing; above 1 doesn't make a difference, at least not that I ever noticed. Play with values between 0-1.

ejgodwin