Nevada Spring

Started by zaxxon, May 06, 2014, 11:58:58 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

zaxxon

I really appreciate the kind feedback from all of you. This scene is a 'bit' heavy and at this resolution took about 30 hours on my 6 core intel box with 32 gigs of ram (using 24 gigs during render). Clearly I'm not very good at 'optimizing' the render scene  :). I had an earlier larger version cooking at det .85, AA 16, but I turned it off at 68 hours and counting (be nice to pause/save/resume render...).

Thanks Oshayn: experimentation is still what my ST stuff is.

David: Thank you, but I still consider myself a novice ST user; probably not noticeable, but the fallen and two upright trees have blackberry vines growing up around the limbs, just trying out the 'grow around' functions in ST. I'll post a close up shot later.

mhaze: Thank you. Looking forward to seeing some more ST work from you and David as well.

Speedtree is aptly named. It really is a productive and intuitive interface. I've also been messing with the Plant Factory (demo), and while I think it may have more bells and whistles for specialized plant creation, I find it a bit more more demanding and slower to finish a model. It would be interesting at some point to compare the two in the context of TG.

Thanks again.

Dune

30 hours for this size and your machine specs  :o That could surely be brought down, I suppose. And perhaps detail 0.6 and AA6 would work just as well for such small size.

archonforest

I have a feeling that 6 core Intel cpu can be Hypherthreaded. Thus u would have 12 proc cores and that will bring the render time down so we can see more beauties from you more often :)
BTW what CPU u got there?
Dell T5500 with Dual Hexa Xeon CPU 3Ghz, 32Gb ram, GTX 1080
Amiga 1200 8Mb ram, 8Gb ssd

zaxxon