Noob questions about clamping function terrain

Started by Shigawire, May 18, 2014, 07:14:01 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Shigawire

Moore noob questions:

1.How do you "smooth" the sharp edge where the dune touches the bottom terrain?

2.How do you select concavity and convexity and smooth that if you want?

Dune

I can't help you there, as I'm not very good with the blue nodes. You might need a different setup for smooth dunes (like warped ridges).

Shigawire

Quote from: Dune on May 28, 2014, 03:14:15 AM
I can't help you there, as I'm not very good with the blue nodes. You might need a different setup for smooth dunes (like warped ridges).

I am not very good at the blue nodes either, or math for that matter. If anyone has a clue about how I could achieve this, it'd be awesome. In World Machine, it's possible to "Select Convexity" or "Select Concavity", and then apply "Blur" or "Glaciate" on it. This would be a great feature to have in Terragen also.

Dune

In TG, if you use fractals for dunes, but not use the internal displacement, but use the colors to feed a displacement shader, you can use a color adjust to mask the whites or blacks and give the valleys or tops extra displacement with additional displacement shaders. So you can keep smooth what you want.

Shigawire

Quote from: Dune on May 28, 2014, 03:52:23 AM
In TG, if you use fractals for dunes, but not use the internal displacement, but use the colors to feed a displacement shader, you can use a color adjust to mask the whites or blacks and give the valleys or tops extra displacement with additional displacement shaders. So you can keep smooth what you want.

I don't understand what you mean. You mean like using color adjust to increase or decrease levels? I thought that only changed/clamped the output.

If I put up the TGD I have so far, maybe people could have a look at it? :)

First I'll try to make it look a little more presentable though :D

Dune