Help for an absolute newbee

Started by ESimard, July 22, 2014, 04:27:02 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

ESimard

Hi, I would like to create a canyon wall 300dpi 8 in high by 48 in long (backdrop for a model train layout).  With some color changes and adding a bit of weeds the "Canyon-preset-tutorial.tgc" is perfect.  But I'm totally lost getting it to extend to the 8x48 in.

Any pointers would be appreciated.
Thanks Ernie

billhd

Ernie, You're saying you want an output size of 14,400 wide x 2400 high pixels.  Or you are saying that you want to use a 300 dpi printer with the final output expressed in inches. I'm answering the first. Click on the Renderers button on top.  Enter that image width and height in the dialogs of those names at the left of the main window.  Set your detail and antialiasing. Hit Render Image.  I now suggest instead that with the Lock aspect ratio button checked, you reduce the output size even if using a registered version.  The size you want is very large and will take time to render. Usually it's best to do test renders at smaller sizes.  Then if you are happy with the result you could render at higher resolution and settings.   If using the free version, get the maximum size you can at that aspect with highest allowable detail and antialiasing (6 and 4 respectively) and increase the image size in an image editor such as GIMP. Also a bit rests on how good a printer you are using.  For that size image you may not get the result you want with the free.  Planetside lists the specs of the various versions on their main site. Good luck.

Dune