fakestones or populations ?

Started by wolle, September 07, 2014, 04:47:56 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

wolle

Hi
I am quite new to terragen3.1 (since march this year)
My question is this: How can I populate self edited Stones (i.e spheres,cubes etc with PF as surfaceshader)?
These can only saved as Clips. (as far as I know, or did I miss something???) But Clips can`t be loaded as a
Population. The fakestoneshader is a great tool, but I have my difficulties with that.
Terragen is a very powerful piece of Software, I like it very much !!!
A useful tip would help me quite a bit, thanks in advance

Wolle

Dune

Welcome to TG then, and to this forum.

If you locate the population for the rocks and stones at the area where these stones are, all you should have to do is anchor the population to the stone. But you can't populate on populations (yet), only on individual objects. So if you have 10 stones, you need ten populations and anchor each to each stone. If they are small stones, set the spacing small.

I hope this answers your question.

wolle

Thanks for your reply ! I tried to do, what you said, but failed...  What kind of Population should be used ? (Card, tgo/obj Reader) Inside the populator is a tab called "anchor", and an objectmaker.
How do I anchor the populator to my Stone ?It`s easy to place the area where it should be, but now ? The Goal is to multiply that single Stone via the populator. The problem is the fact, that the stone cannot be saved as tgo, only as clip. Every tgo (obj too) can be loaded as Population. If I could do just that, then this problem wouldn`t be there.
Maybe you could send a screenshot from inside the populator, and a view from the nodeview to show exactly, what you mean.

Wolle

bobbystahr