Obj Tree shows up as single object, but won't in population

Started by Kivak, September 08, 2014, 09:40:11 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Kivak

Hi everyone!

I am brand new to Terragen and I am having some problems with my Obj trees. The title describes it all. I can show this tree as a single object without problem (well, I had to manually set opacity on the leaves). But when I import this same object as a population, it doesn't show up. But it appears based on the little dots (rather than bounding boxes) that it is doing something... When I add a single tree to the scene, it appears perfect and at the right height.

Any ideas what's up?

yossam

There is a little blue box at the top of the UI, click it and select wire frame. Also you might need to change the spacing on the population. It is probably at 10, change it to 5,5 and see if they show up. Welcome to the forum, enjoy the best piece of software on the market (IMO).

Kivak

Hi Yossam!

Thanks for the reply! Unfortunately, setting to 5,5 spacing didn't work. I may have not explained the situation correctly so I am attaching a new image. I added a single instance of the tree (top of the object list) which was imported and set identical to how the population object was. Notice how the single instance renders fine, but the population doesn't render any trees. I don't think it is a spacing issue (as I can't see a single tree wireframe in the population even after repopulating).'

Thanks as well for the welcome! I am really enjoying it after spending a few days in the free version first. Unfortunately, my Xfrog objects were purchased in Vue/XFR format, so I have to manually convert from XFR to Obj and this is what I get. :(

yossam

Kivak

Correct. I opened it in xfrog and exported it as an obj file.

yossam

zaxxon

Looks like you changed the "spacing variation" rather then the "object spacing".  The fields immediately above "variation" Try" object spacing:" at 1X1 and see what happens.

Dune