black pixels in render

Started by Valentina, November 19, 2014, 07:29:11 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Valentina

Hi, I post here my second real project (yes I'm really new in Terragen). With "real" I mean : not just a casual play but something I'm really focused on. The tgd file is a couple of months old, my first at all, I produced some awful renders, then I started working with more brain with tutorials and so on.. now, I've put again my hands on it. Problem is, it used to give me no black pixels at all in renders, why now it does? now every render I make is "pixeled".. yes, it's not very good, but with those blak dots...... even worse. :-\

Any suggestion? If allowed to, I can add the tgd file.

Any critics or suggestion about the scene is welcome of course..

[attachimg=1]

Kadri

If you want you can share your file here.
Sometimes it is the best way to see what is wrong.
The first that comes to my mind is too much displacement.

Valentina

thank you for your answer,
in the terrain tab, I unchecked the "small details" terrain and i obtained black pixels too. without that layer, that tab was the same as the previous file (the one of no black dots). new are also the shaders in this file..

here is the tgd file..

Dune

Kadri is right; the ridged fractal and the fractal warp don't work pleasantly together, resulting in too much displacement. Best to change the roughness of the fractal warp to 0.9 (it's now at 1) and move the small detail beyond compute terrain. Then it should be fine.

Valentina

.. M.. Ok.. Really thank you.. I think i need to process this answer! There are the subject and the language  :D
Thank you again! I'll lte you know
Valentina

EDIT
maybe I've not done in the right way this "move the small detail beyond compute terrain", but  still get black pixels..

Kadri

Valentina and Ulco, as i said i thought it was the displacement probably.
But it looks like the Grass nodes are the real reason interestingly.