Mountain Lake Animation

Started by DocCharly65, December 13, 2014, 08:51:12 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

DocCharly65

Long Time and only a little step forward... But I know now, what is NOT working...  :-X

The falling leaves and the rising camera are OK in my opinion but the swimming leaves are ugly. I bought some new leave-objects for tests from turbosquid.com. There are new experiments to start  :)

But anyway I have got some new experiences and hope it does not look too bad:

And of course I could not leave it: A single shot in 3D testing the new TG version   ;).

[attach=1]

I stopped rendering the animation and changed the camera focus from the leave to the boat so the blur effect is now on the leave and not the boat - I think it looks better...
For the 3D view you will need red cyan glasses.

Anyway I will work on the scene and especially test other leaves.

DocCharly65

Thanks Kadri,

One frame needs app. 30-60 min to render (Detail 0.35, AA 4) The closer the camera is at the water, the more time it needs.

Kadri

I see. There are noise obviously. Are these settings only for testing purpose?
Do you plan to render at higher settings Doc?

DocCharly65

As you perhaps see, the parts with the rising cam are not as noisy as the parts with the boat/leaves. And most noise is in the water - I must find out why - the less noisy parts have the same render quality... Hope I find out.

...5:35 pm: I try new settings: soften shadows OFF  /  Details 0.4  /  AA 6
Just to check rendertime and changes in the quality of a single frame.

Kadri

It depends on many factors of course but for animation i don't go lower then 0.7 detail and AA 8 mostly.

Oshyan

I don't think the falling leaves look so bad, really. But the whole thing is a bit dark on my screen, so it's hard to say for sure, heh. Maybe increase the GI a bit or up fill light strength if you're not using GI. Is it dark for anyone else?

- Oshyan

Kadri