Author Topic: Ridged Moon  (Read 8386 times)

Offline Rich2

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 409
  • They're all wasted!
Ridged Moon
« on: May 07, 2010, 05:44:51 PM »
I don't know how much interest there is in this, but I created a planet object with global displacements.  It is completely self-contained, not dependent on external files.  I relied heavily on cyphyr's canyon creation, so from one Richard to another: Thank you!!!  
I'm going off the rails on this crazy train!

Offline Zairyn Arsyn

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2877
  • I am the naked Coal.
    • facebook
Re: Ridged Moon
« Reply #1 on: May 07, 2010, 05:47:09 PM »
cool. nice work
looks interesting, i'll  use it for my next sci-fi like scene
WARNING! WIZARDS! DO NOT PREDICT THE BEHAVIOR OF OTTERS UNLESS YOU OBEY BIG HAPPY TOES.

i7 2600k 3.4GHZ|G.skill 16GB 1600MHZ|Asus P8P67 EVO|Evga 770GTX 4GB|SB X-FI|Antec 750W
http://zlain81.deviantart.com/

Offline TheBlackHole

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1068
  • I never finish anything I st
    • Maps and Such
Re: Ridged Moon
« Reply #2 on: May 07, 2010, 07:38:00 PM »
Nice. It could use some craters and mountains, IMO. Use a power fractal displacement set to ridges and set the scale to OVER 9000!!! ;D Then use a very large scale PF displacement for mountains. But keep the ridges. (About that "over 9000" deal, here's where it came from:
. It's an Internet phenomenon.)
They just issued a tornado warning and said to stay away from windows. Does that mean I can't use my computer?

Offline MGebhart

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 911
  • Find work that feels like play
Re: Ridged Moon
« Reply #3 on: May 07, 2010, 09:01:31 PM »
Thanks for hanging a moon.

Nice work.
Marc Gebhart

Offline red_planet

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 182
Re: Ridged Moon
« Reply #4 on: May 07, 2010, 11:05:34 PM »
Nice...

Reminiscent of Enceladus..

Good work

Rgds

Chris

Offline kasalin

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 119
  • http://www.sebelin-home.de
    • SebeLinks
Re: Ridged Moon
« Reply #5 on: May 08, 2010, 06:25:10 PM »
Thanks for sharing.... wonderful !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Offline Kadri

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8502
Re: Ridged Moon
« Reply #6 on: May 09, 2010, 05:42:32 AM »

Thanks  :)

Offline Alpha Centurion

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 21
Re: Ridged Moon
« Reply #7 on: December 01, 2010, 11:54:00 AM »
The file doesn't seem to work. All it loads up when opened is "Planet 01", and a bunch of nodes that don't show in the network.

Offline inkydigit

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5196
  • 🍄🍄🍄
    • inkydigit's website
Re: Ridged Moon
« Reply #8 on: December 02, 2010, 11:16:12 AM »
Nice...

Reminiscent of Enceladus..

Good work

Rgds

Chris
my thoughts also....nice one Rich(s)!
:)

Offline Alpha Centurion

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 21
Re: Ridged Moon
« Reply #9 on: January 31, 2011, 07:26:02 PM »
The file doesn't seem to work. All it loads up when opened is "Planet 01", and a bunch of nodes that don't show in the network.

Bump.

Offline Kadri

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8502
Re: Ridged Moon
« Reply #10 on: February 03, 2011, 01:29:55 AM »
Guys if you have a problem with the file look here please:
http://forums.planetside.co.uk/index.php?topic=11668.msg118434#msg118434

Rich2 if you have any problem with this post please say it :)
« Last Edit: February 03, 2011, 01:40:21 AM by Kadri »

Offline Rich2

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 409
  • They're all wasted!
Re: Ridged Moon
« Reply #11 on: February 03, 2011, 05:06:12 PM »
Thanks for the renewed interest in this, all.  As you can see by this quick test render, the clip file works OK.  I'm thinking Alpha C was expecting to simply open the clip file and it will be ready to render.  Not the case.  You must launch TG2 1st and then insert the clip file.  There will need to be some distance adjustments made to get what I've done here.  And for those who may not know, that plus-sign on the planet node indicates there's an internal network.  Right click the node, select Internal Network and it'll open the "innards".

And no, Kadri - I don't mind at all - in fact I appreciate that you offer any help you can.
I'm going off the rails on this crazy train!

Offline Kadri

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8502
Re: Ridged Moon
« Reply #12 on: February 03, 2011, 05:48:46 PM »
Thanks for the renewed interest in this, all.  As you can see by this quick test render, the clip file works OK.  I'm thinking Alpha C was expecting to simply open the clip file and it will be ready to render.  Not the case.  You must launch TG2 1st and then insert the clip file.  There will need to be some distance adjustments made to get what I've done here.  And for those who may not know, that plus-sign on the planet node indicates there's an internal network.  Right click the node, select Internal Network and it'll open the "innards".
And no, Kadri - I don't mind at all - in fact I appreciate that you offer any help you can.

 :)

Offline mr_anderson

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: Ridged Moon
« Reply #13 on: July 22, 2015, 04:38:11 PM »
Fantastic moon! The only struggle I am having is lighting the moon. I can't seem to get the sunlight in the correct positioning. Any suggestions?

Offline mr_anderson

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: Ridged Moon
« Reply #14 on: July 22, 2015, 04:39:55 PM »
Fantastic moon! The only struggle I am having is lighting the moon. I can't seem to get the sunlight in the correct positioning. Any suggestions?

Never mind. I feel like an idiot. Solved my own issue.

 

anything