Author Topic: Function: cracks & gashes for rocks (fake stones)  (Read 17939 times)

Offline Matt

  • Planetside Staff
  • *
  • Posts: 3589
  • I'm the crazy one
Re: Function: cracks & gashes for rocks (fake stones)
« Reply #15 on: August 22, 2007, 04:51:42 PM »
Saving after opening it gets rid of the errors, but when I attempt to render it or add lighting to the preview the virtual memory blows out to 1.7Gb in a matter of seconds and TG crashes :( The only change I made was replacing the image map with a fractal

That may be due to a bug that has been fixed in the alpha version that Frank is using. That fix will be in this month's public update. There are some shaders that can't be used as part of a displacement calculation, and you may need to isolate those shaders until you discover which is to blame. Unfortunately I can't remember which shaders they are.

Matt
Just because milk is white doesn't mean that clouds are made of milk.

Offline Volker Harun

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1490
  • Let there be Rock!
    • NWDA-Net
Re: Function: cracks & gashes for rocks (fake stones)
« Reply #16 on: August 24, 2007, 02:38:17 PM »
Just to let you know that Frank and I are still on (y)our way.

This is a function that still needs some tuning ...

Volker

Offline moodflow

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1245
    • moodflow.com
Re: Function: cracks & gashes for rocks (fake stones)
« Reply #17 on: August 24, 2007, 03:14:55 PM »
This is looking really good Volker!  Finally, those voronoi straight lines are becoming broken up a bit.  Nice work!   8)
http://www.moodflow.com
mood-inspiring images and music

Offline Seth

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3690
  • Insane Frenchie
    • Setherragen
Re: Function: cracks & gashes for rocks (fake stones)
« Reply #18 on: August 24, 2007, 03:23:41 PM »
wow !
as soon as i get back from holidays, i'll try to understand how the voronoļ works !!! ^^

Offline old_blaggard

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2524
    • http://sdcarpenter.free.fr/paul/
Re: Function: cracks & gashes for rocks (fake stones)
« Reply #19 on: August 24, 2007, 03:46:52 PM »
Looking mighty fine, Volker!
http://www.terragen.org - A great Terragen resource with models, contests, galleries, and forums.

Offline sjefen

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1459
Re: Function: cracks & gashes for rocks (fake stones)
« Reply #20 on: August 24, 2007, 06:01:57 PM »
This is absolutely fantastic :o
Don't put faith in bullshit!

Offline rcallicotte

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9542
Re: Function: cracks & gashes for rocks (fake stones)
« Reply #21 on: August 24, 2007, 07:48:04 PM »
I'd be more help, but I'm busy learning other stuff.  Sometime next week I'll get back into TG2 learning mode.  As usual, I expect to need to run for a couple of weeks before I even catch a sniff of trails like this one.

This looks nice, Volker.  Really good.



Just to let you know that Frank and I are still on (y)our way.

This is a function that still needs some tuning ...

Volker
So this is Disney World.  Can we live here?

Offline nvseal

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 992
Re: Function: cracks & gashes for rocks (fake stones)
« Reply #22 on: August 25, 2007, 06:10:02 PM »
I hope you are going to share that Volker.  ;)

Offline Volker Harun

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1490
  • Let there be Rock!
    • NWDA-Net
Re: Function: cracks & gashes for rocks (fake stones)
« Reply #23 on: August 26, 2007, 01:52:48 PM »
@nvseal: Nope.  :'(

But attached is the improved and cleaned version  ;D

After importing the Clip, you should check the internal network of 'Voroni Cracks'.

It has again a group of modificators.
Patch size, Constant vector ('Same as Patch size') and the scale of the Powerfractal should have approximate values.

Have fun ... and watch for updates,

Volker

Offline old_blaggard

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2524
    • http://sdcarpenter.free.fr/paul/
Re: Function: cracks & gashes for rocks (fake stones)
« Reply #24 on: August 26, 2007, 04:20:22 PM »
Thanks a whole lot for sharing, Volker.
http://www.terragen.org - A great Terragen resource with models, contests, galleries, and forums.

Offline rcallicotte

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9542
Re: Function: cracks & gashes for rocks (fake stones)
« Reply #25 on: August 27, 2007, 01:28:03 PM »
Thanks, Volker.  You're a good educator.   ;D
So this is Disney World.  Can we live here?

Online cyphyr

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4051
    • richardfraser
Re: Function: cracks & gashes for rocks (fake stones)
« Reply #26 on: August 27, 2007, 03:59:51 PM »
Thanks, looks really useful, but I don't get how to plug it in. When I view the group there are no node junctions and when I view the internal network I cant access the nodes from the rest of the scene ???
I know I'm missing something but I cant seem to find it.
Richard
www.richardfraser.co.uk
https://www.facebook.com/RichardFraserVFX/
/|\

i7 5930K @3.5Ghz, 32Gb (TG4 benchmark 13.44)
i7 980 @3.75Ghz, 16Gb (TG4 benchmark 18:40)

Offline Volker Harun

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1490
  • Let there be Rock!
    • NWDA-Net
Re: Function: cracks & gashes for rocks (fake stones)
« Reply #27 on: August 27, 2007, 04:07:56 PM »
Hi Richard,

this is my way to keep a scene setup clean ,-)
Look here for an example: http://forums.planetside.co.uk/index.php?topic=1909.0

If you want to use the cracks as a child of a surface shader, then right-click that little triangle on top of that shader which is for the child-input.
A little menu appears, choose asign shader --> VoroniCracks/Output

Got it?

Volker :)

Offline RealUser

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 229
  • Hey Hey!
    • My Renderosity Gallery
Re: Function: cracks & gashes for rocks (fake stones)
« Reply #28 on: August 27, 2007, 04:42:45 PM »
Hey, hey! Way cool guys!
Markus / RealUser
...................................................................
visit my Renderosity Gallery at
http://www.renderosity.com/mod/gallery/browse.php?username=RealUser
...................................................................

Offline rcallicotte

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9542
Re: Function: cracks & gashes for rocks (fake stones)
« Reply #29 on: August 30, 2007, 06:11:41 PM »
Volker, I can't get this TGC to open.  I'm getting a couple of errors about intersection something or other.
So this is Disney World.  Can we live here?