Import Bryce scenes to Terragen and/or import pictures (tiff or jpg ) to Terrage

Started by astronut80920, December 11, 2015, 06:50:22 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

astronut80920

I just spent a month or so learning to use Bryce 7.1, but decided I was not happy with the render results.  They looked too cartoony to me and because I am an avid landscape photographer, I want a renderer that renders good landscape scenes.  Enter Terragen.  I downloaded Terragen Free to try it out and it took me probably one hour to fall in love with it, wonderful renders!!!  My main  reason to use a scene renderer is 1-landscapes and 2-outer space scenes.  Terragen fills the bill for #1 nicely.  Bryce has plugins that I can use to create space backgrounds like nebulae, stars, etc.

First question: Can I import scenes like these from Bryce into Terragen.  I did find a tutorial on the Bryce page, but it didn't work , it said it needed a plugin called "for export only" but I couldn't find it and it looked complicated.  Is there  a way to do this?

Second question:  If #1 can't work, how about the ability to import space pics (Tiff or Jpeg) into Terragen and then using them as backgrounds in scenes?

Thanks,

Jim L.

Kadri

If you can export objects and image files that are usable in the format that Terragen imports the answer is yes for both of your questions.
Obj export is mostly present in every 3D program. Terragen can import those files.

Have a look here:

http://docs.daz3d.com/doku.php/artzone/pub/software/bryce/reference/fm_exportobj

http://planetside.co.uk/wiki/index.php?title=Terragen_Import-Export_Reference

I don't use Bryce maybe you will get better answers from others.

bobbystahr

Quote from: astronut80920 on December 11, 2015, 06:50:22 PM