Sierra's WIP

Started by Tangled-Universe, January 24, 2016, 06:53:48 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Tangled-Universe

Well I was better at TG when I was a rookie ;)
Just trying to re-invent myself to keep it interesting and challenging at the same time :P

Oshyan

Save Incremental buddy. :D

- Oshyan

Tangled-Universe

That's for pussies ;)

Nah serious, I usually save things many times. My Crater Lake image has around 70 versions or so. Keeping track of that is also a nightmare (shit, I liked those colours better in version...42? or 48? or 35? or...?)

With this one I think twice and make less changes at a time.
It takes longer, but it's nice.

Here are some tests for water...what do you guys think? I think it's really hard to get the colour right.

Oshyan

The bottom one is better so far I think. But yes it's very hard to nail this particular color, as appealing as I find it to be!

- Oshyan

Tangled-Universe

Thanks :) Can you be a bit more specific on how you think it should be? More blue, more green?
Perhaps a reference pic you think is suitable for this scene? I feel a bit stuck with this, probably spent too much time with this aspect.

Oshyan

I am attempting to make this water myself now, so if I get something good I'll send it to you. :D

- Oshyan

AP

Here is some reference photographs to take some inspiration from. All from the Sierra Nevada's in varied locations.

Dune

I'd go for the silty bluegreen look. Will you be adding some reflection where water hits stone? It doesn't look very wet yet. Nice to see you posting some real imagery again, instead of 'just' words, btw  ;)

Tangled-Universe

Thanks Ulco :)
One thing at a time, well...may be two ;) Wet stones and nailing the look of the water is what I'm working on now with some guidance and discussion with Oshyan. Artistic vs realistic/correct, it's quite hard to choose.

DocCharly65

I am very curious now for the bottom half. The top half image looks already great!

inkydigit