Terragen 3 Imports

Started by Gaveeebruce, January 21, 2016, 08:07:37 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Gaveeebruce

Hello all

I'm very new to Terragen and still learning the basics, i need to know basically what the software's limits are. I've got a few questions if anyone would know the answers that would be wicked.

Firstly I'm creating as much of a game i possibly can for a project for college i need a scene and some assets. My question can i make assets in terragen or is it mainly landscape based (when i mean assets like huts and things for players to interact with) ?
Next question if i can't create assets are there any possibilities i can import objects into Terragen from 3ds max or mudbox or vise versa am i able to transfer a terragen file too unity or 3ds max ?
Next question I've seen a lot of artists work for terragen on youtube where a camera pan's around a scene and showcases is there a feature or an add on where i can use a playable character and walk around my environment which I've created in terragen like what unity offers ?

Thank You

Dune

Welcome, first of all. If you are new to TG, you're aiming high  ;) Let me tell you what I can tell you; you can't really create assets in TG, unless you mean things like rocks (you can procedurally mould some stuff from displacable cubes). But nothing like huts or people.
You can import them very well though; best is an obj file. You may have to reassign some textures, so check that out after importing. TG works in meters, so try to get your obj's in meters (Poseray is a handy in between). You can save these assets as (native) tgo, which can be loaded in subsequent sessions easily, including all added procedural nodes.
Having playable characters would need a different app, IMO.
Exporting terrain is possible with the micro exporter, but I have no experience with that.

Hope this helps.

red_planet

Dune is correct.