Global population shader

Started by krisc, February 17, 2016, 11:00:01 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

krisc

Hi, I am a beginner in using Terragen 3. I am trying to render a fairly large area and I am just wondering how can I populate, say a region/ zoomed out version of a general area with lush forests. I am working on a country level DEM data, and the final output would be, let's say Brazil showing lush green forests. I've imported objects in the terrain with two object population instance over 100,000 area, but somehow hogs much of my hardware resources. Is there another way on how to populate the  area with objects or texture globally?

I am working on a country level DEM data, and the final output would be, let's say Brazil showing a lush green forests. Looking forward to your replies. Thanks in advance!!

Kris

AP

How much RAM do you have because what you are attempting is dependent on a lot of RAM for one thing. 100,000 meters square?

yossam

Might be better doing it procedurally............ ???

Dune

That is indeed demanding a lot of RAM. Very low poly trees might help, otherwise populate just the area near the camera and do the distance with procedural 'fake trees', i.e. green bumps in the terrain.

AP

Brazil for example is about 4,400 kilometers across at it's longest diameter. I have just enough RAM on my Computer to do maybe 30 kilometers square of a population with spacing of say 3 to 5 meters between each object. A fully grown tree for example would be in the low tens of millions in that scenario were as an area the size of the Amazon could be around 400 billion trees, perhaps even many more then estimated. It would be around 146 times more in size or there about.

If you are working with 100,000 meters square then that would be 100 kilometers square to compare the size of the areas.

AP

Quote from: Dune on February 18, 2016, 03:05:25 AM