Terragen 3.4 beta clouds

Started by AP, March 01, 2016, 03:24:18 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

AP

Closer to a compromise between tight billowy and broken up. The lighting looks better for this one, i think?

DocCharly65

The top is already unbelievable good!

I don't really know what is disturbing me about the bottom of the clouds. But just an idea: Is it possible to add a  couds layer with less density but minimal higher coverage some meters lower? I fantasize just a little...

Dune

Yes, I like the tops as well, the whole clouds actually. Perhaps soften the bottom more? I've done some work on clouds too lately, and found out that you can also use a surface shader with a negative black color (+input) to adjust stuff (at certain heights), and use the child input to alter the feel of the cloud. There are always new ways  ;) I guess blue nodes can do the same (like bias, modula, clamp, whatever, but I'm not really good at those (at all).

AP

Quote from: DocCharly65 on March 03, 2016, 02:42:16 AM
The top is already unbelievable good!

I don't really know what is disturbing me about the bottom of the clouds. But just an idea: Is it possible to add a  couds layer with less density but minimal higher coverage some meters lower? I fantasize just a little...

Certainly, however the idea was to use as little nodes as possible here. I like a good challenge while still trying to keep it realistic. My current render should have more soft cloud bottoms.

AP

Quote from: Dune on March 03, 2016, 02:47:12 AM
Yes, I like the tops as well, the whole clouds actually. Perhaps soften the bottom more? I've done some work on clouds too lately, and found out that you can also use a surface shader with a negative black color (+input) to adjust stuff (at certain heights), and use the child input to alter the feel of the cloud. There are always new ways  ;) I guess blue nodes can do the same (like bias, modula, clamp, whatever, but I'm not really good at those (at all).