Elementacular 1.5 released - volumetric cloud shaping plugin for Maya

Started by pokoy, December 16, 2016, 08:51:02 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Hetzen

Ulco, I've sent this set up over to Oshyan to have a look at, so perhaps I shouldn't give the details away at the moment. It's quite different to those examples AP. When I re-wrote this yesterday I realised I only needed one Linear step in the graph. And Mogn I stuck a conditional in there  :P

AP

I figured as much after I studied more based on what this was about. I was tempted to run some experiments of my own, however not directly related to blobs but if anyone wants to look at these I can post the files later after a few more are finished.

Dune

@ Jon; no problem.
@ AP; those are pretty cool. There are clouds like those. I guess you can use a sinus function or some kind of PF multiplied by altitude ranges.

Hannes

Just did a quick test with localised clouds as blobs. Like that you can roughly see where the blobs are.
I guess this won't work with easy clouds, but with V2 or V3 it does.

Hetzen

There's some nice work there AP. Looks like you're using the altitude to drive a perlin in some of those. They remind me of a Battlestar Galactica - Cylon Basestar.

@Hannes: That's how DandelO did his I think.

Hannes

Quote from: Hetzen on December 18, 2016, 11:54:08 AM
@Hannes: That's how DandelO did his I think.

Ah, I have to confess, that I haven't read all the postings... :-[
Thanks, Jon!

AP