planets

Started by vice, September 09, 2007, 09:37:22 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

vice

okay im new to tg2 and not too bad with vanilla tg. i made some hieght maps using b/w images of the actual moon, they came out nicely. all i really did was convert the moon image to a hieghtmap using a 3rd party program then put it into tg. simple but neat then i was able to paste the origional colour image right over top of the generated heightmap for a very realistic scene. so it was cool but i couldnt go much further with it other than messing with the scenes effects. now that tg2 is available i want to take it a step further. now that i can have round planets and all. so heres my problem, im having a hard time just getting back to the level i was at with vanilla tg. all i want to do is input that b/w image of the moon into tg2 and get a heightfield i can work with then plop the origional image on top. just like i did with regular tg. then i can expand and play from there. also i see alot of tutorials for adding planets to your scene but none for if your scent IS the planet. perhaps somebody could make a tutorial on making cool looking planets in space etc.

oh ya i forgot to mention the reason im even asking for help here is for starters when i zoom out all the way in tg2 everything is blocky and jagged, even the planet has huge black chunks missing. im guessing its something to do with scale but i would have no idea how to fix this

(bottom image is from google moon and top image is vanilla tg

rcallicotte

Welcome to TG2.  I think you'll find it is much different that Terragen .9x.

While I'm not sure how to address this problem you're having, here's a link to some planet renders and work -

Similar problem? - http://forums.planetside.co.uk/index.php?topic=472.0

Planet surfacing - http://forums.planetside.co.uk/index.php?topic=1536.0

Nebula - http://forums.planetside.co.uk/index.php?topic=2017.0