something Blue.
Ring out the Old.
Bring in the New
Bobby Stahr, Paracosmologist

DocCharly65

Dune

Your skills are obvious. Terrific work.

sboerner

Thanks, Ulco. Modeling seems to come naturally to some people but it certainly doesn't for me. I'm not an artist by training and that's probably a prerequisite for anyone who aspires to be a really good modeler.

Anyone interested in organic modeling should take a look at Silo. I can't recommend it enough. It's lightweight, fast, and focused exclusively on subdivision modeling. And it's relatively inexpensive. Its sculpting and UV tools are rudimentary but you can move the model into ZBrush or another app to finish up.

As far as Terragen goes everything I've learned is because of the good people at Planetside and everyone on this forum. Such a great community. I've learned so much over the past year and am eager to start on more scenes to put that knowledge to work.

Edit: New avatar, Doc? Nice!

sboerner

New POV. The scene was getting cluttered and that was bothering me. This angle is cleaner and puts the bridge front and center where it belongs. A better composition, I think. Need to fix parts of the scene that were not visible before and add a few details (leaves on the water etc.) and people.

bobbystahr

I agree with this PoV...love the way it shows the wake.
something borrowed,
something Blue.
Ring out the Old.
Bring in the New

DocCharly65

Though I like the original POV too, this one is even more impressive!

...New Avatar? - No - an old one I modified with grey hair and grey beard for more realism ;D

Dune

I agree, this POV has more power (though I too liked the other one), but if all modeling is finished, you can render every POV you like.

sboerner

Very true, of course! But I am thinking about turning this into a printed piece, so will have to choose eventually.

QuoteI agree with this PoV...love the way it shows the wake.