Author Topic: tgd suddenly crashes Terragen 4.1.18  (Read 474 times)

Offline KlausK

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 434
  • Land ho!
tgd suddenly crashes Terragen 4.1.18
« on: April 17, 2018, 06:49:41 AM »
Hello everyone

The attached scene suddenly crashes TG. Hit "Render" and it starts doing its thing.
When the first pass is done (the one where you see the little coloured dots) it should start the final pass but Terragen disappears and I get a error popup.
Worked normally to one point. I am on Win7Ult..
To my eyes there is nothing unusual in the settings. But I am curious to find out what is going on. Maybe another pair of eyes sees what I am missing...
Anybody willing to open it and hit the render button, please?
Thanks!
CHeers, Klaus

ps: the scene works when you disconnect the "Merge Shader" side of nodes and feed the "Surface Layer" directly into the "Compute".
Feeding another node into the "Input" of the "Merge Shader" does not help. And the 3D Preview window renders just fine...with and without RTP.
« Last Edit: April 17, 2018, 07:10:29 AM by KlausK »
/ ASUS WS Mainboard / Dual XEON E5-2640v3 / 64GB RAM / NVIDIA GeForce GTX 780 / Win7 Ultimate

Offline Kadri

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8338
Re: tgd suddenly crashes Terragen 4.1.18
« Reply #1 on: April 17, 2018, 07:44:56 AM »

Looks like the Fake stones shader is the problem.

Offline Hannes

  • Terragen Alpha Tester (Win)
  • ***
  • Posts: 4226
Re: tgd suddenly crashes Terragen 4.1.18
« Reply #2 on: April 17, 2018, 08:14:12 AM »
Confirmed. And Kadri is right. Disabling the Fake stones shader makes the render work. Sounds weird... ???

Offline Kadri

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8338
Re: tgd suddenly crashes Terragen 4.1.18
« Reply #3 on: April 17, 2018, 08:19:10 AM »

With Stone talness "5" the render finishes.
But with "10" it renders on and on with just 1 tile remaining(but dosn't crashed).

Offline jaf

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 752
Re: tgd suddenly crashes Terragen 4.1.18
« Reply #4 on: April 17, 2018, 08:31:15 AM »
Weird. The first time I tried the render, I checked "Lock aspect ratio" and set the width to 700 (from 1400).  It rendered fine.  I set the width back to 1400 and it crashed during render.  Tried the same process again with the same results.

Just loaded and rendered and it crashed.  Changed the height from 450 to 550 with the width left at 1400 and it crashed without getting to the second phase of the render (all dots).

Tried several more renders at different size/aspect ratios, but only had successful renders @ 700x225.   :o

(05Aug18) Ryzen 1800x, 960 EVO 500GB NVME-M.2 SSD, Corsair Vengeance 64GB DDR4 3200 Mem,  EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti FTW3 Graphics 399.07 (30Aug18), Win 10 Pro x64, Terragen 4.2.10

Offline Kadri

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8338
Re: tgd suddenly crashes Terragen 4.1.18
« Reply #5 on: April 17, 2018, 08:49:20 AM »

Yes with lower resolution it rendered in my test too.
Interesting problematic scene. Trying to end task with task manager didn't work too.

Offline Kadri

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8338
Re: tgd suddenly crashes Terragen 4.1.18
« Reply #6 on: April 17, 2018, 09:00:29 AM »

The "Render subdiv settings" are not at default. I changed the Render node with a default one only and it rendered fine.
Without changing the fake stones etc. Weird!

Offline jaf

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 752
Re: tgd suddenly crashes Terragen 4.1.18
« Reply #7 on: April 17, 2018, 02:04:11 PM »
Good catch! Looks like the subdivision "Force all edges" is the culprit.  Unchecked, it renders fine.
(05Aug18) Ryzen 1800x, 960 EVO 500GB NVME-M.2 SSD, Corsair Vengeance 64GB DDR4 3200 Mem,  EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti FTW3 Graphics 399.07 (30Aug18), Win 10 Pro x64, Terragen 4.2.10

Offline KlausK

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 434
  • Land ho!
Re: tgd suddenly crashes Terragen 4.1.18
« Reply #8 on: April 17, 2018, 09:19:04 PM »
Thanks all who were looking into this!
The "Force all edges" was there before the "Fake Stones", I remember. I did not disable the setting because I forgot about it.
But who would have thought it would not play well together with the "Fake Stones Shader"...

Maybe it is something you guys at planetside want to look into sometime.

Anyways, now off todisable this settingg before I forget again ???
CHeers, Klaus
« Last Edit: April 17, 2018, 09:20:41 PM by KlausK »
/ ASUS WS Mainboard / Dual XEON E5-2640v3 / 64GB RAM / NVIDIA GeForce GTX 780 / Win7 Ultimate