Density Shader vs. Final Density Modulator

Started by D.A. Bentley (SuddenPlanet), April 29, 2018, 01:43:29 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

D.A. Bentley (SuddenPlanet)

Whats the difference, or why use "Final Density Modulator" instead of just a Density Shader?

Thanks,

Derek

luvsmuzik

I am not an expert, but I have seen the Distribution shader used here. I am experiment with warps, redirects, etc. Hooking those there is one of my current trials also.

WAS

Believe it's just a cloud based mask rather than masking the Density PF and the cloud layer reading that as a single cloud. Taking into consideration cloud properties I guess.

As you can see, there isn't much difference in masking the cloud density, and using the density modulator. It seems the modulator method, again, uses some internal methods to determining the best effect for the mask. Masking the Density itself seems to yield a sharper, more exacting result, using the modulator seems to have some adaptive effects.

Here is a comparison render I did.  It seems the Final density modulator renders faster, and produces a softer result.  I'm curious if anyone knows the technical things going on behind the scene here.[attachimg=1]

luvsmuzik

Quote from: D.A. Bentley on April 29, 2018, 03:49:40 PM
Here is a comparison render I did.  It seems the Final density modulator renders faster, and produces a softer result.  I'm curious if anyone knows the technical things going on behind the scene here.[attachimg=1]

Are you using the same setup, just transferring one node to the other? Try hooking it to both. I didn't see much difference in rendertime with both. Also try the Depth Modulator node.

Quote from: luvsmuzik on April 29, 2018, 03:52:17 PM
Quote from: D.A. Bentley on April 29, 2018, 03:49:40 PM

Are you using the same setup, just transferring one node to the other? Try hooking it to both. I didn't see much difference in rendertime with both.