Underwater scene

Started by René, July 15, 2018, 12:39:42 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

René

Quote from: Oshyan on August 11, 2018, 09:49:46 PM
I *think* you may be able to use two Suns, one with shadows for Surfaces (soft shadows enabled), and the other with shadows for atmo (soft shadows disabled).

- Oshyan

It works, kind of. I get a bit of both, but then I lose quality in other places. Maybe I am looking for something that is not possible in the real world; can soft shadows and caustics exist together at all?
Thanks anyway.

René

Quote from: WASasquatch on August 11, 2018, 12:56:39 PM
Quote from: René on August 11, 2018, 04:56:29 AM
Quote from: WASasquatch on August 10, 2018, 12:49:16 PM
Though there are shadows in caustics. Technically it's what makes the caustics. We just see the light as the "active bits" rather than noting the shadows.

Okay, I'm not an expert in this area  :) although I did some reading on this subject. If it would help to create caustics I would dive into this matter but if it is simply not possible then all knowledge of the world will not help. :-\
How would you explain caustics on the bottom of a boat? Reflections?

I don't want to get into a argument. It's why we call them caustics, instead of just refraction (like a kaleidoscopes refractions), because they involve refraction and shadow of objects. The transparency and refraction effect the basic shadow as well. Ocean floor caustics includes shadows when light is refracted away, shifted and concentrated with other light. This creates shadows... The light itself is refraction. The combination of the two is caustics.