How to render high-res heightmap by using the Luminosity shader with a gradient?

Started by rafaelz, September 28, 2018, 08:46:25 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

rafaelz

How do you use the "Get Altitude" node and take it into a luminosity shader and render it into a heightmap with a top-down camera?

I'm asking about the node workflow itself. I'm new to TG4 and don't really know how the nodes work together. I would really appreciate someone explaining to me which node goes with which and in what order.

I've read in the forum about someone using Linear Step so they can get a gradient using terrain altitude and then render with a top-down camera, but couldn't replicate that on my own: https://planetside.co.uk/forums/index.php/topic,23017.msg232972.html#msg232972

Why I want to use the renderer? Because I've tried the "Heightfield Generate" node, and I think the quality of the save file is not as good as rendering a "luminosity Shader" with a top-down camera render where I can adjust "Micropoly detail".

Ultimately, I want the best resolution heightmap possible from TG4 so I can save it as an EXR or TIFF and use it in other render engines like Octane with Cinema 4D.

I don't really need a Vector Displacement for overhanging, just a scalar displacement will be fine. And no need for a tiled map for now.. just the best quality single 8k heightmap TG4 renderer can provide, if that's doable.

Thanks for reading

Dune

You can also use a surface shader where you set luminosity with a gradient by altitude (max altitude white and an appropriate fuzzy zone. Then kill all lights (sun and enviro) and ortho render your terrain, save as 16-bit tif. No need for a compute terrain either.

Welcome, btw.

WAS

It's cool to note that a Heightfield Shader can already present the shader in height with a solid colour (like white) to use as a Luminosity input on a surface layer or what not.

Example project attached.

rafaelz

Quote from: WASasquatch on September 28, 2018, 01:37:30 PM