Author Topic: terragen to UE4 workflow  (Read 306 times)

Offline Jon-UK-RAH

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
terragen to UE4 workflow
« on: March 23, 2019, 09:14:51 PM »
I'm looking to get heightmap files from terragen  that i can use in UE4, but getting them in the raw16 format UE4 likes is proving to be tricky. I assume I'm not the 1st to try this but i cant find much info with a quick search of forum. Thanks in advance!

Online cyphyr

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4051
    • richardfraser
Re: terragen to UE4 workflow
« Reply #1 on: March 23, 2019, 11:08:36 PM »
I have done this and you are right it is troublesome.
I can't remember the exact process at the moment but I will check my files and get back to you.
You will need to export from Terragen as an exr and convert that in photoshop to a RAW16 keeping the byte order correct.
I'll have a look and get back to you tomorrow.
www.richardfraser.co.uk
https://www.facebook.com/RichardFraserVFX/
/|\

i7 5930K @3.5Ghz, 32Gb (TG4 benchmark 13.44)
i7 980 @3.75Ghz, 16Gb (TG4 benchmark 18:40)

Offline Jon-UK-RAH

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: terragen to UE4 workflow
« Reply #2 on: March 24, 2019, 08:40:40 AM »
Thanks, I have got a trial of photoshop (I have used corel suite for years!) and found the terraconv app, they seems to be the key to working with the raw 16bit files and i have got a couple into UE4 now. I like to make things interesting so Im wanting to build a tiled world, looking at 16 tiles of 2000m each using a resolution of 1009x1009 , just gotta work out how to set the co-ordinates when i generate now!

Online cyphyr

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4051
    • richardfraser
Re: terragen to UE4 workflow
« Reply #3 on: March 24, 2019, 07:33:42 PM »
You seem to have a solution. I tried  but couldn't get the results I had previously.
www.richardfraser.co.uk
https://www.facebook.com/RichardFraserVFX/
/|\

i7 5930K @3.5Ghz, 32Gb (TG4 benchmark 13.44)
i7 980 @3.75Ghz, 16Gb (TG4 benchmark 18:40)

Offline penboack

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 144
Re: terragen to UE4 workflow
« Reply #4 on: March 25, 2019, 10:22:31 AM »
It is possible to use 16-bit PNG which might be easier to produce.
Then you donít need to use PS as just about every image editor supports PNG.

https://docs.unrealengine.com/en-us/Engine/Landscape/Custom

Offline Jon-UK-RAH

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: terragen to UE4 workflow
« Reply #5 on: March 25, 2019, 11:22:40 PM »
yeah 16 Bit PNG's do work ok but there is some compression that leads to ridges like an ordinance survey elevation map! The results from the raw file is much better, will have to consider swapping my dreamweaver sub for photoshop if i do get to grips with this. I have yet on top of setting the coordinates of the heighmaps so i can create tiled worlds in UE4. You can get some impressive results that way, especially in the area of dynamic lighting and openworlds. Ill put up a short clip the scene i have in there I have got in there so far in a bit

Offline Jon-UK-RAH

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: terragen to UE4 workflow
« Reply #6 on: March 25, 2019, 11:27:43 PM »
...just starting to get a few assets in but the landscape out of Terragen is great
« Last Edit: March 26, 2019, 12:48:04 AM by Jon-UK-RAH »

Offline penboack

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 144
Re: terragen to UE4 workflow
« Reply #7 on: March 26, 2019, 12:52:57 AM »
That looks great.

PNG is a lossless format, so in theory the results should be identical to RAW.

Offline Jon-UK-RAH

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: terragen to UE4 workflow
« Reply #8 on: March 26, 2019, 06:34:01 PM »
it may be how corel photopaint handles them, I use png's on website a lot and it offers me compression options so i just assumed it was the norm, and the issue i outlined is from png's prepped in corel. It  doesnt support 16Bit png's either so was using 32bit which made UE4 moan!


I am still struggling to set the co-ordinates when making the heightfield, am I going to need the pro version to do this or am i just missing the point? Any pointers would be great as ive tried what i thought would work but not cigar!!