Thumbs-up emoji

Started by DocCharly65, July 17, 2019, 01:22:41 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

DocCharly65

... meanwhile I ask myself if there isn't an update available for this forum including a "thumbs up" emoticon...
Something in the pipeline for the future, Oshyan and Matt?

... on the other side... never touch a running system ;)

WAS

I've been managing and running forums for almost 20 years now, and to this day, I still do not understand the point of post ratings [on forums]. They came about when Dig was hip, and it was used in that system to bump topics in the list (more digs, higher it's ranking). Forums don't work like that so there is no real point.

I did like the later "Thanks" system, where a lot of forums focused on help/support and this allowed a user to be thanked for their input by people that doesn't need to add input and clutter the post just to say thanks.

Oshyan

Ask Reddit why post rating is useful. It's their entire model. :D

And yes Doc, we're already looking at options for a few more features. Probably something soon.

- Oshyan

WAS

Quote from: Oshyan on July 17, 2019, 03:08:54 PM
Ask Reddit why post rating is useful. It's their entire model. :D

- Oshyan

Which is based on Digg's system of upvoting. You upvote posts, to make them relevant. To the top of the list or comment section. That's the point.

Reddit in fact took Digg's place in posting relevance for teens and techies. Reddit was in fact a Digg clone in infancy. (even double letters in it's name).

DocCharly65

Ähemmm... nice that it's worth a little discussion :) but I only had the idea that e.g. a "thumbs up" sign inside any post could corroborate some parts of posts.

somehow like this:

Nice start! [attachimg=1]   Good luck with the final render [attachimg=2] :)
Uups... I'm late ... this post is 15 years old? I'm embarrassed - I'm not here! [attachimg=3]

Just a bit color and some soul in the texts.