Multiple Heightfields Question

Started by vossity, October 11, 2019, 02:55:11 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

vossity

Hi, 

I'm having trouble getting two heightfields to work in my scene. (both exported from world machine)
Currently they both show up, but I can't seem to get any textures to show up on the second heightmap. 
I'm terrible at explaining so I included some images to help. 

The first one is fine, as you can see but the second lacks any texture. It looks fine on it's own, meaning the bitmap I plugged into it does show up. 
I tried merging them in different ways but I can't seem to get anything to work. 
I'm a bit of a newbie with Terragen so I may just be missing something super obvious?

Thanks for the help in advance!

Oshyan

In Terragen it is generally best to create, load, or otherwise add data in a particular way, starting with terrain, then proceeding to surface shading and populations. This is how the default project is setup, to help illustrate this.

Terrain is created with displacement, which is additive (generally speaking; even when you are using negative displacement values, it's still being "added" to what's already there). You start with a flat planetary sphere, then you displace that to create terrain shapes using built-in fractal noise functions, imported terrains, etc.