Any way to apply a generated terrain mask to plane object?

Started by sboerner, November 08, 2021, 01:41:19 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

WAS

Displacement to Scalar needs the terrain fed into the shader.

sboerner

/* Bangs head against wall. */

Oh, good lord. Don't know how many times I read right over that in the wiki. Thanks for pointing it out. As you can tell, I've never used this node before.

This works and apparently outputs a scalar value equal to the altitude. See attached displacementToScalar.jpg. Same result as I was getting before with the Get Altitude shader. It also allows me to transfer the mask to the plane object, though there is a mismatch (also attached).

Also, feeding the displacement through a Compute Terrain seems to break it. Patch size doesn't matter.

Still figuring this out . . .

WAS

The Displacement to Scalar will be the actual Bump Map of your terrain, so it is correlated to altitude in that the highest scalar value will represent the highest peaks/areas in your terrain. This means when you define an area of the map, it will have data from the terrain so it won't be just a hard mask of 1 and a fuzzy zone, it will be whatever the terrain is. So you can clamp in the Black Point like shown in my image to make the map a harder 1 (When low/high colour is clamped).

The compute terrain does indeed mess with the map, so it's best to take the line right before the compute terrain/normal shader. You don't need the texture coordinates and stuff anyway, and it may add negatively to computation time.