Author Topic: woohoo....new machine  (Read 5931 times)

Offline inkydigit

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5196
  • 🍄🍄🍄
    • inkydigit's website
woohoo....new machine
« on: February 15, 2008, 09:20:49 AM »
Hi All!
its been a long time coming, but I have eventually been able to get a new machine(thanks partially to getting cash from my folks etc at christmas)...I originally had one of these:  http://www.everymac.com/systems/apple/imac/stats/imac_dv_400.html
added more RAM/upgraded OS etc....it has done me well since 1999/2000.....but now I have one of these:  http://www.everymac.com/systems/apple/imac/stats/imac-core-2-duo-2.4-24-inch-aluminum-specs.html
...what can I say?
I have been living in the dark ages for too long....you will hopefully see more of my work....rendering has become alot more fun....lol....done a couple of test renders with settings I would never even have attempted to try, and the results are beyond comparison...will post some stuff soon....all the best see you all soon
Jason
:)

Offline rcallicotte

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9542
Re: woohoo....new machine
« Reply #1 on: February 15, 2008, 12:47:58 PM »
Looks like a cool machine.  Render away!   :o
So this is Disney World.  Can we live here?

Offline Oshyan

  • Planetside Staff
  • *
  • Posts: 13022
  • Holy snagging ducks!
Re: woohoo....new machine
« Reply #2 on: February 16, 2008, 02:39:42 AM »
Congrats Inky!!! I've honestly hoped for this day for a long time. I've always liked your work and been disappointed that your available computer resources kept you from doing more. I can't wait to see what you can do now. :)

- Oshyan

Offline Dark Fire

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 711
    • g400.co.uk
Re: woohoo....new machine
« Reply #3 on: February 16, 2008, 09:49:51 PM »
Woooo...I've just got a new machine too - a Sony VAIO VGN-AR51M. So far, it has rendered much faster than my old HP Pavilion - so much faster, in fact, that I'm finding myself using the render preview much more. The render preview for a blank project, for example, now takes under 5 seconds to finish rendering (rather than around a minute). I can finally see why AMD has no real answer to this Core 2 Duo...
« Last Edit: February 16, 2008, 09:51:50 PM by Dark Fire »

Offline sjefen

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1446
Re: woohoo....new machine
« Reply #4 on: February 16, 2008, 10:27:20 PM »
I can finally see why AMD has no real answer to this Core 2 Duo...

AMD has Core 2 Duo. It's the Quad they don't have. If AMD had a Quad I would have bought that instead of Intel.
Don't put faith in bullshit!

Offline Dark Fire

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 711
    • g400.co.uk
Re: woohoo....new machine
« Reply #5 on: February 17, 2008, 05:48:36 PM »
Not according to my experience and PC Plus. In fact, it would be fun to play 'spot the difference' with an Athlon 64 and an Athlon 64 X2...

And to say that AMD doesn't have the Quad is an overstatement. I'm a strong AMD supporter, but at the moment I have to admit that Intel are far superior.

Offline PG

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1203
  • Does the CG Monster Mash
    • PG Creation Studios
Re: woohoo....new machine
« Reply #6 on: February 17, 2008, 06:19:36 PM »
AMD does have a 4 core processor, it's called the phenom. but it still doesn't hold anything to the core 2. especially not the wolfdales.
Figured out how to do clicky signatures

Offline sjefen

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1446
Re: woohoo....new machine
« Reply #7 on: February 17, 2008, 06:41:18 PM »
I think I've made a mistake her. I thought Dark Fire said AMD didn't have 2 core processor's.

AMD does have a 4 core processor, it's called the phenom. but it still doesn't hold anything to the core 2. especially not the wolfdales.

I didn't know that ::). Well..... I learn something everyday.

I'll guess I have to say I'm sorry. I think I was a little fast on the trigger.
Don't put faith in bullshit!

Offline Dark Fire

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 711
    • g400.co.uk
Re: woohoo....new machine
« Reply #8 on: February 17, 2008, 10:20:53 PM »
No, I didn't mean that AMD don't have dual core processors - I was pointing out that Intel's dual core processors are simply amazing compared to AMD's. Sorry for the ambiguity.

Haha...How could you not know about Phenom? It's famous! Even AMD say that it's rubbish. :D

Anyway, hopefully the European Competition Commission will screw Intel, and AMD will catch up...
« Last Edit: February 17, 2008, 10:22:35 PM by Dark Fire »

Offline inkydigit

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5196
  • 🍄🍄🍄
    • inkydigit's website
Re: woohoo....new machine
« Reply #9 on: February 18, 2008, 12:00:08 PM »
thanks Oshyan/calico et al!
looking forward to getting my teeth into a couple of projects!
cheers
J