How do I lower the horizon line for skyboxes?

Started by xnasorcerer, February 27, 2008, 09:29:13 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

xnasorcerer

Oshyan

xnasorcerer

Quote from: Oshyan on February 27, 2008, 09:39:53 PM
Tilt the camera up?

- Oshyan

I tried that, but them the 6 parts of the skybox doesn't fit anymore.

Oshyan

Ah yes. Then raise the camera altitude significantly, but keep the camera level.

- Oshyan

xnasorcerer

Quote from: Oshyan on February 27, 2008, 09:52:16 PM
Ah yes. Then raise the camera altitude significantly, but keep the camera level.

- Oshyan

Well, since I am still learning to use terragen, which one of the cameras options is the altitude and what do you mean by keep the camera level?

Also, there is a little bug with the cameras. When I change the position values for a camera, sometimes it also changes the values of another camera that I didn't touch.

Thanks

Harvey Birdman

Hi, xna -

Elevation is the 'Y' coordinate - the middle of the three textboxes to the right of the 'Position' label on the camera property page.

The three rotation values below position control camera angle. The first rotates it about the X axis, the second about the Y axis and the third about the Z. The effect, then, is that the first value controls vertical direction (up or down),  the second controls horizontal direction (north, east, south, west), and the third is camera rotation (sideways tilt).

It's the third of these that Oshyan referred to - it should be set to 0 for all frames of a standard skybox.

<edit>
The second should be at zero for all frames except sky and ground.

Ooops! Make that the first, as shown below.   :-[   ;)
</edit>

Raise your camera by increasing the Y position coordinate, then shoot your frames with the following rotation settings:

Frame1 - North - 0,0,0
Frame2 - East - 0, 90, 0
Frame3 - South - 0, 180, 0
Frame4 - West - 0, 270, 0
Frame5 - Up - 90, 0, 0
Frame6 - Down -90, 0, 0