Author Topic: Old English Oak Tree (Quercus robur) fixed link  (Read 12079 times)

Offline Mandrake

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 515
Re: Old English Oak Tree (Quercus robur) fixed link
« Reply #15 on: September 07, 2008, 01:35:33 PM »
Thanks cyphyr, that's a beauty!!

Offline j meyer

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2154
    • orkwarts
Re: Old English Oak Tree (Quercus robur) fixed link
« Reply #16 on: September 07, 2008, 02:22:02 PM »
Glad you like it. ;D
I'm redownloading right now,thanks.
It's quite easy and all done in TG:i simply connected two image map
shaders (one for color,one for displacement) to the default shader
of the trunk set the size to something like 0.5 or 0.25 and checked
the repeat features.
I made another version with a slightly more blurrred version of the bark
pic and a little less displacement earlier,but since that required some
outside work i decided to show the above one. ;)

Richard ,do you think it'd be possible to separate the trunk part from the
rest of the model,so one could maybe sculpt it or add some sculpted roots
and then combine it again with the branches or use two models?

Offline cyphyr

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4003
    • richardfraser
Re: Old English Oak Tree (Quercus robur) fixed link
« Reply #17 on: September 07, 2008, 03:46:18 PM »
Hi j mayer
Firstly you'll see that the new tree you've just downloaded has much better mapping. You should not need to click the repeat check boxes as this has no effect on UV mapping. You can of course use any texture you like. You might want to start with a simple checkerboard pattern and get your scale from that and then substitute in your bark texture.
The models are released as TGO's at the moment (I may release OBJ's later) and these cannot be edited in any external app, however the Tgo's do have seperate texture channels for T
trunk, root, branches etc so you could indeed use different displacement/texture maps on each channel.
Happy rendering
Richard
www.richardfraser.co.uk
https://www.facebook.com/RichardFraserVFX/
/|\

i7 5930 @3.5Ghz, 32Gb (TG3 benchmark 6:04)
i7 980 OC'd @3.9Ghz, 16Gb (TG3 benchmark 6:30)

Offline j meyer

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2154
    • orkwarts
Re: Old English Oak Tree (Quercus robur) fixed link
« Reply #18 on: September 07, 2008, 08:16:10 PM »
Yes indeed much better mapping now.
I just described what i had done,calico asked.And it seems it worked,but i'll
try it with another texture later to see exactly,good idea btw.
Of course i know tgos can't be edited in other apps,what i meant was :would
it be technically possible to separate the trunk of a tree,made with Tgen,to
alter it with ZBrush,for example,and then recombine the branches and the
trunk in XSI or to combine the 2 models (the trunk and the branches) in
TG so they are matching.That way one could sculpt a high res gnarled trunk
and could make use of generated branches,twigs and leaves.Doing twigs
and leaves  manually would be somewhat painful you know.
Hope i have been clearer this time.
Anyway,thank you again for your awesome trees,so far the best i know of!

Offline rcallicotte

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9542
Re: Old English Oak Tree (Quercus robur) fixed link
« Reply #19 on: September 08, 2008, 02:23:01 PM »
Like jmeyer said...this sounds like it would be cool, if possible.

This model looks superb.
So this is Disney World.  Can we live here?

Offline jcinbama

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 74
Re: Old English Oak Tree (Quercus robur) fixed link
« Reply #20 on: September 11, 2008, 11:20:16 PM »
Nice tree thanks a buch :o :o :o

Offline AndyWelder

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 516
  • Niet zeuren, gewoon doen!
Re: Old English Oak Tree (Quercus robur) fixed link
« Reply #21 on: September 12, 2008, 12:51:49 PM »
While loading i get an error message about not being able to locate 'OakSprig2'. It's an image file that's part of the 'OakLeaves2' shader but I can't find it in the downloaded file.
"Ik rotzooi maar wat aan" Karel Appel

Offline cyphyr

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4003
    • richardfraser
Re: Old English Oak Tree (Quercus robur) fixed link
« Reply #22 on: September 12, 2008, 03:13:09 PM »
Thanks for pointing that out, fixed now :)
Richard
www.richardfraser.co.uk
https://www.facebook.com/RichardFraserVFX/
/|\

i7 5930 @3.5Ghz, 32Gb (TG3 benchmark 6:04)
i7 980 OC'd @3.9Ghz, 16Gb (TG3 benchmark 6:30)

Offline AndyWelder

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 516
  • Niet zeuren, gewoon doen!
Re: Old English Oak Tree (Quercus robur) fixed link
« Reply #23 on: September 12, 2008, 03:15:31 PM »
Thank you for the swift fix and for the wonderful tree!
"Ik rotzooi maar wat aan" Karel Appel