large images: 4 camera positions then stitch?

Started by Dune, March 09, 2009, 07:41:35 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Dune

This is my first attempt at asking something, so I hope this works.
To produce large images (4000x6000 pixels and up) from one complicated landscape (which, in my renders, often crash), I think it should be possible to make 4 POV's with some overlap, and combine the largest renders possible (say 2000x3000, without cropping) in a stitching program or Photoshop. Would this work, and how can you easily get these 4 POV's from an initial POV that has the right framing and rendersize?
Can anyone shed some light on this?

Mohawk20

Does the render crash if you do crop renders of the full size?
Howgh!

Dune

Yes, exactly. I have tried several ideas found in forums; pre-allocating RAM, decreasing it, decreasing the quality of the objects, turning off GI (using extra sunlight instead), rebooting first. Of course nothing else is on whilst rendering, and I have emptied the temp directory. I render at detail 0.5 and AA 0.5. I have 4GB of RAM and a brandnew and fast dual core CPU.
Just yesterday I tried one at 4500 x 2200, which crashed all the time, even when cropping in six parts. I tried 4200, which crashed as well (right at the start, the runtime message). When I got to 3900 it worked flawless. And very fast as well, the six parts were done in an hour or so.
I am still to try decreasing the number of threads to 2 or 0, which possible solution I found yesterday.
There seems to be some 'magic' threshold above which TGD doesn't even bother to load all masks and objects, hence my idea to render in smaller uncropped images and stitch them together. 

Oshyan