Author Topic: QRTV in Terragen 2?  (Read 4019 times)

Offline Aagam

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 86
QRTV in Terragen 2?
« on: April 03, 2009, 12:01:53 AM »
Sorry if this question has already been asked, but is there a way to make a VR in Quicktime with Terragen 2? I"ve never made a VR before and would love to try. I know people have done it in Terragen, and assume some people have experimented with it before in Terragen 2. Is there any tutorial out there, or can anyone help me out? I'm not too sure where to get started.

Offline PG

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1203
  • Does the CG Monster Mash
    • PG Creation Studios
Re: QRTV in Terragen 2?
« Reply #1 on: April 03, 2009, 12:18:27 AM »
I found this
http://forums.planetside.co.uk/index.php?topic=853.0

I've never tried panoramas myself, mainly because I don't know how :D but I think this would be where you're looking for.
Figured out how to do clicky signatures

Offline Oshyan

  • Planetside Staff
  • *
  • Posts: 12562
  • Holy snagging ducks!
Re: QRTV in Terragen 2?
« Reply #2 on: April 03, 2009, 02:12:48 AM »
TG2 does not currently have native support for generating QTVR panoramas. You can of course manually render the necessary angles and assemble the panorama using a 3rd party tool, but this involves no special functionality within TG2.

- Oshyan

Offline Aagam

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 86
Re: QRTV in Terragen 2?
« Reply #3 on: April 03, 2009, 03:00:18 AM »
Awesome, thanks guys, I'll give it a whirl.

Offline Aagam

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 86
Re: QRTV in Terragen 2?
« Reply #4 on: April 03, 2009, 11:29:01 PM »
I tried using the stuff BigBen linked to, but something weird is going on. I got a rather weird result... I attached the tiff image used to create the QTVR. Anyone know what's going on?

Offline Mohawk20

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1570
  • Custom worlds on request... habitable on delivery.
    • Terrabits.eu
Re: QRTV in Terragen 2?
« Reply #5 on: April 03, 2009, 11:52:45 PM »
Nice moire  ;)
Looks like there's something out of alignment...
Howgh!

www.Terrabits.eu - New and improved!

Offline Aagam

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 86
Re: QRTV in Terragen 2?
« Reply #6 on: April 04, 2009, 12:02:23 AM »
It's weird... I followed all of the instructions :(

I tried rendering another scene and I got the same problem. I can render a QTVR using that tiff file, however it just consists of a bunch of lines (as seen in the image I uploaded).

Offline Aagam

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 86
Re: QRTV in Terragen 2?
« Reply #7 on: April 04, 2009, 03:26:36 AM »
After a few hours of work I managed to find a way to make VR images in Terragen with no trouble at all! It's actually damn simple, just had to find the right program.

Offline bertrand

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 55
Re: QRTV in Terragen 2?
« Reply #8 on: April 06, 2009, 10:52:31 AM »
Mind sharing your findings?

Offline neon22

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 241
Re: QRTV in Terragen 2?
« Reply #9 on: April 12, 2009, 04:56:01 AM »

Offline Aagam

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 86
Re: QRTV in Terragen 2?
« Reply #10 on: April 13, 2009, 11:14:32 PM »
Mind sharing your findings?

It's actually quite easy. You simply need to make 6 renders with the camera positions of:
0, 0, 0
0, 90, 0
0, 180, 0
0, 270, 0
90, 0 , 0
-90, 0, 0

I downloaded a program called CubicConverter. You simply post the 6 renders to a side of a cube and then it renders everything for you. I haven't upped my stuff yet since I'm just testing right now, but I shall later.

 

anything