Request for help

Started by john_knowles, April 29, 2009, 10:42:00 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

john_knowles

Hello everyone, I have a slightly unconventional request for help which I hope you will consider.

I am a grad student in the UK studying GIS, and I'm really interested in using some Terragen 2.0 renders in my academic research. Specifically, I want to render scenes of natural environments such as the example attached.

I'm experimenting with modifying the underlying terrain data to alter the appearance of hills on the skyline, for example to make them more prominent, or smoother, with a view to assessing how these changes impact people's map reading and orientation ability. In effect I want to use Terragen as a surrogate for photos of the real world: I want people to believe that what they're looking at is a photo, and not a landscape render. As far as I can see, TG2 offers the best chance to create such an illusion.

Now my problem is that I've had a reasonble look around TG classic and TG2, and while I've been able to make a start in both packages, my efforts are pretty poor. I've found a few sample 'world' (?) files around the web, and I understand how to export .ter files from my GIS programs, but I'm really looking for a way to accelerate my ability to produce renders such as the photo attached to this post.