Author Topic: Terragen 0.9  (Read 191 times)

Offline Lalla

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 136
  • Maybe God used terragen 2 to make his world...^^
Terragen 0.9
« on: April 17, 2019, 11:41:55 AM »
Due to trouble pc I must use only terrangen 0.9 or terragen 2.

I've lost all my old materials and links to download dem.

Can someone help me?

Where I can found dem files for 0.9 and 2 version?

Thanks for help.

Lalla
Lalla

Offline D.A. Bentley

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 337
    • D.A. Bentley
Re: Terragen 0.9
« Reply #1 on: April 17, 2019, 02:06:18 PM »
The easiest way to get DEM is here (but the size is limited):
https://terrain.party/

If you need larger DEM chunks try here:
https://viewer.nationalmap.gov/basic/

It's also helpful to use uGet for downloading mass amounts of DEM data:
https://viewer.nationalmap.gov/uget-instructions/

Earth Explorer:  https://earthexplorer.usgs.gov/

Global Data Explorer:  https://gdex.cr.usgs.gov/gdex/

Also (Need to Register an account):  https://glovis.usgs.gov/

You can find a bunch of stuff here too: http://www.webgis.com/
For example this is the Los Angeles area:   http://www.webgis.com/terr_pages/CA/dem1/losangeles.html

NOAA:  https://maps.ngdc.noaa.gov/viewers/wcs-client/

There are a lot more, but that should get you started.

-Derek

Offline Lalla

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 136
  • Maybe God used terragen 2 to make his world...^^
Re: Terragen 0.9
« Reply #2 on: April 17, 2019, 05:58:42 PM »
The easiest way to get DEM is here (but the size is limited):
https://terrain.party/

If you need larger DEM chunks try here:
https://viewer.nationalmap.gov/basic/

It's also helpful to use uGet for downloading mass amounts of DEM data:
https://viewer.nationalmap.gov/uget-instructions/

Earth Explorer:  https://earthexplorer.usgs.gov/

Global Data Explorer:  https://gdex.cr.usgs.gov/gdex/

Also (Need to Register an account):  https://glovis.usgs.gov/

You can find a bunch of stuff here too: http://www.webgis.com/
For example this is the Los Angeles area:   http://www.webgis.com/terr_pages/CA/dem1/losangeles.html

NOAA:  https://maps.ngdc.noaa.gov/viewers/wcs-client/

There are a lot more, but that should get you started.

-Derek

Thanks for help, I've yet used terragen, I've rendered grand canyon, but I've lost all data due to hard external hd crash.
Another question, (maybe the last? :) ) what format type I must download to load on terragen?
Lalla

Offline D.A. Bentley

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 337
    • D.A. Bentley
Re: Terragen 0.9
« Reply #3 on: April 17, 2019, 08:06:02 PM »
Terragen 2 I would guess will load more DEM types compared to 0.9, but I'm not sure actually because I'm in Terragen 4 and it seems to load almost anything.

For your purpose I would recommend trying to grab GeoTiff DEM if you can find it. since it's a bitmap type format but it has Geo-referencing info as well.

If you use https://terrain.party/ it will download a Zip file with several bitmap type DEMs' like PNG.  You can easily load those into a program like Photoshop to look at them.

Here is a good tutorial as well:
https://archer-designs.com/tutorials/usgs-elevaton-data-with-terragen-2/

From https://viewer.nationalmap.gov/basic/ I would try IMG or GridFloat format.

Look for the Zip file here for an example DEM in IMG format:
https://www.sciencebase.gov/catalog/item/581d219ae4b08da350d535ec

Hope that helps!

-Derek

Offline Lalla

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 136
  • Maybe God used terragen 2 to make his world...^^
Re: Terragen 0.9
« Reply #4 on: April 17, 2019, 10:04:57 PM »
Terragen 2 I would guess will load more DEM types compared to 0.9, but I'm not sure actually because I'm in Terragen 4 and it seems to load almost anything.

For your purpose I would recommend trying to grab GeoTiff DEM if you can find it. since it's a bitmap type format but it has Geo-referencing info as well.

If you use https://terrain.party/ it will download a Zip file with several bitmap type DEMs' like PNG.  You can easily load those into a program like Photoshop to look at them.

Here is a good tutorial as well:
https://archer-designs.com/tutorials/usgs-elevaton-data-with-terragen-2/

From https://viewer.nationalmap.gov/basic/ I would try IMG or GridFloat format.

Look for the Zip file here for an example DEM in IMG format:
https://www.sciencebase.gov/catalog/item/581d219ae4b08da350d535ec

Hope that helps!

-Derek
img  don't work in terragen 2, only 4. :(
Lalla

Offline D.A. Bentley

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 337
    • D.A. Bentley
Re: Terragen 0.9
« Reply #5 on: April 17, 2019, 10:50:19 PM »

Offline Lalla

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 136
  • Maybe God used terragen 2 to make his world...^^
Re: Terragen 0.9
« Reply #6 on: April 18, 2019, 05:59:05 PM »
Try here for GeoTiff:
http://opentopo.sdsc.edu/lidar?format=sd

I've noticed that on earth explorer is possible save a jpg image of the needed part of earth. I need to convert it on tga, type 2 targa 24 format. Exists a converter that do this? I can use only terragen 0.9 not other versions.
Lalla

Offline D.A. Bentley

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 337
    • D.A. Bentley
Re: Terragen 0.9
« Reply #7 on: April 18, 2019, 07:10:45 PM »
You can convert image types with many different programs.  Here are two free ones:
https://www.gimp.org/
https://www.irfanview.com/

Offline Lalla

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 136
  • Maybe God used terragen 2 to make his world...^^
Re: Terragen 0.9
« Reply #8 on: April 19, 2019, 12:30:30 PM »
You can convert image types with many different programs.  Here are two free ones:
https://www.gimp.org/
https://www.irfanview.com/

I've solved using a software that I always use, thank you :) .
Lalla

Offline Lalla

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 136
  • Maybe God used terragen 2 to make his world...^^
Re: Terragen 0.9
« Reply #9 on: April 20, 2019, 12:02:49 PM »
You can convert image types with many different programs.  Here are two free ones:
https://www.gimp.org/
https://www.irfanview.com/

I've solved using a software that I always use, thank you :) .


 :( I've not solved nothing, All file formats don't work. I've download tif image but it seems black, I've tried to load on terragen but terrain is flat. How can I solve this trouble now?  :(
Lalla

Offline bobbystahr

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 10138
  • Turn, and face the Strange Ch Ch Changes...D Bowie
Re: Terragen 0.9
« Reply #10 on: April 20, 2019, 02:39:44 PM »
I suspect you are using the wrong image loader in TG. DEM files can't be loaded like that. I've not played with  DEM maps myself but there's a specified loader for them. Maybe some one with DEM experience will chime in here.
something borrowed,
something Blue.
Ring out the Old.
Bring in the New

bobbystahr

Offline Lalla

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 136
  • Maybe God used terragen 2 to make his world...^^
Re: Terragen 0.9
« Reply #11 on: April 20, 2019, 07:13:41 PM »
I suspect you are using the wrong image loader in TG. DEM files can't be loaded like that. I've not played with  DEM maps myself but there's a specified loader for them. Maybe some one with DEM experience will chime in here.

No, sorry, IMAGE that I've downloaded from EARTH ECPLORER is black, not that that I loaded on terragen.
Lalla

Offline Oshyan

  • Planetside Staff
  • *
  • Posts: 12950
  • Holy snagging ducks!
Re: Terragen 0.9
« Reply #12 on: April 20, 2019, 09:10:43 PM »
You can't generally view DEM data in any standard image viewer, even if it's a seemingly standard format like TIFF.

It is unclear what your issue in Terragen is. If your DEM file gets properly loaded with "Heightfield (Load DEM)" then the name of the *shader* should change to the name of the file that is loaded. Thus I suspect you are not loading it correctly or it is failing for some other reason. The DEM is not loaded, that is why it is flat.

- Oshyan

Offline Lalla

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 136
  • Maybe God used terragen 2 to make his world...^^
Re: Terragen 0.9
« Reply #13 on: April 20, 2019, 10:53:40 PM »
You can't generally view DEM data in any standard image viewer, even if it's a seemingly standard format like TIFF.

It is unclear what your issue in Terragen is. If your DEM file gets properly loaded with "Heightfield (Load DEM)" then the name of the *shader* should change to the name of the file that is loaded. Thus I suspect you are not loading it correctly or it is failing for some other reason. The DEM is not loaded, that is why it is flat.

- Oshyan

Tiff is black
Lalla

 

anything