Sand (Desert, dry lake surface, cracked surface)

Started by Alkin, June 02, 2009, 10:53:15 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Alkin

Hi.
Ive searched forums for sand surface and come up with some results but mostly it is a dune texture like on this picture here which is also something i need but id like to know how to make ripples which are in bottom right corner of the picture.
Also i am interested how can i make something like this. Almost flat but with texture.
The last thing i would like to get advise on is how to make something like this

Thank you in advance.

P. S. Yes i know, i am complete newb. ))

RArcher

The first two are possible just using a powerfractal.  Simply spend some time playing around with the various values until you get something close, you will also get the benefit of learning quite a bit too.

The last one is also possible.  Perhaps see here for more detail: http://forums.planetside.co.uk/index.php?topic=6432.0

Seth

Quote from: RArcher on June 02, 2009, 11:50:30 AM
The first two are possible just using a powerfractal.  Simply spend some time playing around with the various values until you get something close, you will also get the benefit of learning quite a bit too.

errrr... did anyone already made good sand ripples using powerfractal ?
I know Wiwine did using functions but i don't remember good PF sand ripples from anyone (but i may be wrong of course)... and i spent some times trying but i was faaaaar from the picture i just checked (the first Alkin posted)

Alkin

Quote from: RArcher on June 02, 2009, 11:50:30 AM

The last one is also possible.  Perhaps see here for more detail: http://forums.planetside.co.uk/index.php?topic=6432.0

I did spend ton of time with PF. And again i did manage to come up with some nice dunes but not ripples.

littlecannon