How to get Craters on moon

Started by rubydancingmoon, February 03, 2007, 05:54:55 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

rubydancingmoon

Hi. New here and looking for some plain english, non mathmatical help here please?  :-[

After much trying [and hair pulling] I have finally managed to get a 'moon' shot that I am happy with. I found that when making a planet it appears more like a moon if you delete the planet atmosphere. Also bought it a lot closer in distance to the camera so the features are clearer.

However, I cannot for the life of me make the surface appear to have those lovely huge craters that we see in real photographs.
Can anybody please tell me how, if it is possible?

I am new to and still relatively lost using this node based program so the plainer the answer the better for me!
Many thanks
:)

mrwho

People have been using Image maps (wit ha picture of the moon's surface) but i can't seem to get it to work. I was about to post a thread asking the same question, so let's see what happens

old_blaggard

Welcome to the Terragen fold :P.  Somewhere on this forum is a script that allows you to get multiple craters on a terrain without using a whole bunch of crater shaders.  If you don't want to mess with that, you can always apply a dozen crater shaders to the moon with really big diameters, and then use power fractals or something to simulate the rest.  Finally, someone recently posted a tgd file of a cratered moon that he made over in the Shared Files forum.
http://www.terragen.org - A great Terragen resource with models, contests, galleries, and forums.

Will

old blaggard is talking about 3Dguy's script HERE: http://www.theglasseye.nl/terragen/

Regards,

Will

oh and welcome
The world is round... so you have to use spherical projection.

rubydancingmoon

Thanks for the welcome!