Performance

Started by nxfxcom, August 29, 2009, 05:16:21 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

nxfxcom

Hello,

i have been working with Maya for about 3 years, and started last week playing with Terragen2, i am a little bit concerned with the Rendering Performance, a simple setup from the basic tutorial takes about 3 Minutes to render, and my viewport looks horrible, i am using a 2008 Mac Pro with dual 3GHZ the nvidia GTX 285 plus GT120, 4 SSD drives and 24 GB of ram, and it still takes about 3 minutes to render the file in 640x480 (just followed the simple tut)

Any idea why it is so slow?

Thank you

FrankB

can you specify the tutorial you mean? there are a lot of basic tutorials, so...

Anyway, rendertime is dependant on may things. There are many switches that deal with a certain quality aspect, that usually does not need to be turned on. For example, "ray traced shadows" in the cloud node. Only needed if e.g. a mountain summit is casting a shadow on the cloud layer.
But also: render detail, have you pushed it all the way up to 1, or even beyond? Do you need this level of detail for your scene? Mabye you don't. Are you pushing GI relative quality through the roof? Usually you won't need more than 2. Even 1 will be sufficient for many scenes.

I could go on like that. It's would be best if you could attach your tgd to your post, so others can have a look and better help you optimize it.

Cheers,
Frank

old_blaggard

A couple of other things to note:
- The viewport isn't completely OpenGL-based like Maya - it's basically a low-rez rendering of the scene that you can navigate through dynamically. It's also not multithreaded right now, so you only have one core working on it.
- There is a bug in Mac OS X 10.5 that results in threading not quite working properly, so performance doesn't scale well beyond two cores in a final render. If you're using all of your cores to render, you're actually running more slowly than with just 2. Mac OS X 10.6 fixes this.