Very New User! Laying Image Map correctly onto Terrain

Started by Earwig, December 12, 2009, 07:58:54 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Earwig

Hello! I'm pretty new to Terragen (in general, though I use 2). I've been digging furiously through these forums, Google search, a .pdf manual, and the Planetside wiki for an answer to my issue, but I can't seem to find it. I wouldn't be surprised if that's because I was looking in the wrong places, rather than the information not existing, but better safe than sorry.

Forgive me if I use incorrect terms at all in explaining!

The issue:
I'm making a fantasy map based on a heightmap that I had generated in a game called Dwarf Fortress. The heightmap's dimensions are 4112x4112, though I've also tried 600x600 and even 10,000x10,000! Here's the smaller version of the heightmap for reference:

http://i49.tinypic.com/ad2clk.jpg

What I would like to do is take the color map I made for it to line up exactly with the different features. Whenever I use Plan Y, it makes my terrain all black, and I haven't been able to find the plane that the shader should sit at. Projection obviously works, but only for as long as my camera is looking top-down and center- I need it to lay like a proper texture and exactly color the areas it is meant to color. I've used the same dimensions for the color as I have for the terrain, and fiddled for hours, and still haven't figured it out.

Color map for reference, 600x600 again. http://i49.tinypic.com/2w6dp2u.jpg

Anyway, if you could help me with this very frustrating problem, I'd be pretty much forever in your debt. It's given me over a week of agitation, and I'd like it to be behind me now!

Thanks again!  :)

Henry Blewer