Crack in the earth help

Started by godshall, December 28, 2009, 11:28:45 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

godshall

Hi everyone, I'm new to Terragen and this forum. Excited to be using a great piece of software!

I'm still using the demo version (pending some answers I'm trying to get from the folks at xfrog), and I'm having trouble creating a crack in the earth type shot. I want it to look like there's a crack that the camera is suspended over that runs through the middle of the image off into the distance. There will be a bright light shining up out of the crack, mountains in the background, dead trees, dark sky.... that sort of thing.

The attached photo is sort of the look I'm going for (though I want the crack to be on a slightly larger scale). The terragen render attached is about the  closest I've been able to get. The crack in that render I made in cinema 4d and just dropped on top of the terragen render in photoshop.

I worked through the "On the road" tutorial in the terragen wiki (thanks for that!) and thought I might be able to use a similar image map shader technique to localize a power fractal to cut into earth. So far however I haven't found a way to get the results I want.

If anyone can point me in the right direction or give any help at all I would greatly appreciate it. I'm supposed to have a decent mock up of this scene ready for a photo shoot tomorrow. Happy holidays everyone.

cyphyr

Hi and welcome to the forums.
I would use a painter shader for the large scale cracks together with some voronoi crack (try FrankB's Advanced Cracks) for the smaller scale cracks.
Attached is a quick mockup, feel free to rip it to pieces etc :)
happy rendering
Richard
www.richardfraservfx.com
https://www.facebook.com/RichardFraserVFX/
/|\

Ryzen 9 5950X OC@4Ghz, 64Gb (TG4 benchmark 4:13)

godshall