Terragen -> Projection Mapping ?

Started by Floating.Point, January 15, 2010, 10:23:55 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Floating.Point

Hello all,

I am a young environments artist currently working and studying in Australia.
I utilize cinema 4d quite a lot for its wonderfully intuitive camera projection workflow.
I am very new to Terragen but am extremely excited about its possibilities.

I have come to a bump which I cannot seem to overcome so some support and ideas would be greatly appreciated.

My goal is to build up a terrain in Terragen and utilize its beautiful render engine to produce high res plates. I would like to then (somehow) bring in the geometry and camera into my 3d package (c4d) and use the render to project through the camera onto the geometry generated by Terragen.

Please dont mistake my query as being a question about camera projections ( I am quite experienced with that already). Instead my problem is I do not understand how I can get the geometry and camera out of TG2 and into C4D.

If anyone could point me in the right direction I would be thoroughly grateful.

Many Thanks,

Nathan

PS. my apologies if this question has been answered, I could not seem to find any information despite having tried a good while before posting. Thanks again.

Falcon

For the terrain, if you have a heightfield you can export it as an LWO object (rather: A series of LWO objects in an LWS scene).

For procedural terrain, I use an ortographic camera with -90/0/0 rotation (i.e. straight down) and a distance shader giving me elevation of the terrain. This can then be used, e.g. in the displacement channel in Cinema 4D or you may find a way to generate an actual terrain mesh from it.

The camera is tricky. Your best approach would probably be to take it from the .tgd file, which is a fairly easy to understand XML file.

Hetzen