rendering in 32bit linear colorspace?

Started by JasonA, February 05, 2010, 12:16:22 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

JasonA

HI All,

Im getting unexpected results when rendering to EXR from Terragen in that when i bring my footage into Nuke, it doesnt seem to be in the correct colorspace.  It is a 32bit file which I did expect, but the footage looked quite a ways off from the render view in terragen.

I noticed that there is a Gamme Adjust value which is by default set to 2.2.  I expected that this would put my render in the renderview window in sRGB space, and that by setting this value to 1, i would get a linear render.  However when I re-rendered the scene, nothing in the renderview changed which also was unexoected.  It would seem that the gamma adjust doesnt work in a way i thought.

I'm pretty new to terragen, but I use a linear workflow in maya and nuke and would like to be able to do that in terragen as well.  But judging by whats happening with my footage, im clearly not doing something right.   Can someone elaborate on using terragen w/Nuke in a linear 32bit workflow?

Thanks!

nikita

RArcher

I can't elaborate on a Nuke workflow, but I can give a little clarification.  The gamma and contrast settings are not applied on a .exr image, it is strictly the raw data.  The renderview in Terragen does apply the gamma and contrast settings that you applied.

Henry Blewer

I used EXR in one of my images. I did color correction using Blender (It's the only EXR compatible program I have) I was hoping for DOF information to be included in the EXR image.

Well anyway, I'm sticking to bitmaps converted to png.
http://flickr.com/photos/njeneb/
Forget Tuesday; It's just Monday spelled with a T

Saurav

Think of EXR files like the RAW files you get off cameras, they need processing.

Oshyan