Help for a complete novice

Started by baizewizard, March 01, 2010, 04:17:50 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

baizewizard

Hi Guys

Just recently discovered T2 and I am absolutely blown away by the program.
Decided that I want to create some of these amazing scenes myself.
I like the off-world type of stuff mainly, in particular Mark Edward's amazing artwork.

Anyhoo.... I have been grabbing as many tuts as possible and learning the basics for the last couple of weeks.
Quite a learning curve!

I have a question which is doubtless easy answerable by you guys but I am struggling a bit as a newbie.
I figured that if I download a couple of clip files that have been generously uploaded by others I could put them into one of my own basic scenes as a way of learning how they influence.

However, I can't figure how to connect the nodes in the node window (d'oh! moment).
For instance, very basically, if I donwload say, an ice and snow tgc, which should obviously be connected to the shader group, how do I make that basic connection?

Sorry to ask something that is very basic I'm sure but hey, we all have to start somewhere.

All the very best

Tim

Tangled-Universe

Welcome to the forums!

This question is being asked quite often and the answer lies more or less in the essence of TG2's workflow with nodes.

Each node has an input-port on the far left and an output at the bottom center.
A scene is being built up from top to bottom. The bottom node ultimately connects to the planet-node (gray).
The top node(s) create the terrain and displacements, then the texturing. Hence the groupnodes "terrain" and "shaders".

Clipfiles are usually built up in a similar way.
Depending on what kind of clipfile it is you have to connect it in between shaders present in the terrain-group or shaders-group.