occlusion shader requested

Started by MrTomate, March 08, 2010, 09:42:06 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

MrTomate

Hello, i'm new in the TG2 community and in process of learning this great stuff.
I have had a few questions which i answered my-self by exploring the threads but i've also noticed that some of the questions have tricky solutions :
- my exemple : the most significant is making foam on water only near the coastal which can be hard to make without painting mask (which can be a long process) unless you are math genius (i'm not)...

So... I guess I have a solution: adding an occlusion shader node.

People who use 3D softwares oftenly know this. This shader can be very usefull if used as a mask

For those who don't see what an occlusion shader is, i've attached an image.
It produces occlusion color where volumes are in contact or close enough... Often used for contact shadowing. You decide the distance, the colors and how it's distributed.
Applied on water, it could be a perfect coastal mask for exemple and also useful for lots of things :)
what do you think?

FrankB

this would indeed be very useful

old_blaggard

Most of the complex math that you mention that people have done is actually an implementation of occlusion. The only thing that makes it complex in my experience is figuring out exactly how to coax the various coordinates out of TG2's system.
http://www.terragen.org - A great Terragen resource with models, contests, galleries, and forums.

nikita

The main problem with water is that it involves two different objects and it's hard to make a shader take information from one object to another. I don't see how occlusion could help.

btw: For lighting, Ambient Occlusion is already implemented.

MrTomate

QuoteMost of the complex math that you mention that people have done is actually an implementation of occlusion. The only thing that makes it complex in my experience is figuring out exactly how to coax the various coordinates out of TG2's system.