Background picture ?

Started by Helinet, March 20, 2010, 12:42:27 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Helinet

I have a nice (jpeg) photo of Andromeda galaxy. I'd like to put that galaxy to the night sky in my picture using "Background - Surface shaders - New shader - image map shader". But all I get is a beautiful starry night sky without a galaxy. How could I do that ?

//EDIT

A picture added. There, where now is just stars should be the galaxy

dandelO

Are you using 'through camera' projection, and have it set to use the correct POV camera?

Helinet

Quote from: dandelO on March 20, 2010, 01:55:47 PM
Are you using 'through camera' projection, and have it set to use the correct POV camera?

Uh oh... I don't know. :-[ I'm a complete newbie with this TG2. Where can I find these settings ?
Does TG make this background image to fit the screen automatically ?

dandelO

In the projection settings of the image map shader. Choose 'through camera' and select the render camera for it(or another of your choosing that's set up to fill the screen.

Image map shaders should automatically be set this way at defaults, though(without a specific camera being assigned, that is). ???

Helinet

There it was ! Now the picture is visible as it should be. Thank you very much !

tempaccount

I guess this thread isn't old enough yet for me to make a new one..

I'm trying to make something very similar, but I can't seem to get my image visible at all. I have made a new Image map shader and connected it to the surface shader of the Background node. I can see the image properly in the *node* preview when I don't select a projection camera for it, but regardless, nothing ever shows up in the preview window or actual render.

dandelO

Using the 'colour function' of the shader doesn't really give you any results because that colour(I assume) has to travel through the atmosphere etc. before it reaches the camera. I never see colour from this method, anyway.