Making a beach in TG2

Started by zgrillo2004, April 03, 2010, 09:52:49 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

zgrillo2004

Hi. I just thought of a great idea to make my fist TG render. but the problem is that I have no idea on how to make realistic coastlines with mountains in the middle of the island. does anyone have a tutorial or show me how to do so since I am a noob at this.

Zack

Dune

Welcome, Zack. I'd suggest studying the forum, there's lots of information to be found about what you intend to do. Use the search function on beaches and mountains and islands, and just start fiddling with TG. There's not one way to start, but plenty. Good luck. Upload your first try, and lots of people will comment and help, I'm sure.

zgrillo2004

Thanks. tell you the truth I have an impairment of math so thats why a tutorial would be helpful. and the node system is pretty confusing for me

Dune

I'm not good at maths at all, and I didn't understand one bit of the node system at first, but once you start out with little things, you'll find out... and probably never work in the 'upper left corner' again.

kevnar

I suggest adding a power fractal terrain first. Then add a surfacelayer called "Coast" as a guide. Set the height constraints to between 20 and 0 meters. Then set the slope constraints to between 10 and 0 degrees. Then turn the Use test colour on and zoom way out to find an area of flat wide beach for your coastline.

Keep hitting Random seed on your terrain if nothing suitable is found near 0,0,0. Don't stray too far afield from that point or the calculations get dodgy. Instead, bring the field (or beach) you want to work with to you by hitting random seed on the terrain. It may take a while but it's better than fighting with the numbers later when altitudes and slopes don't match up.